FORUMS

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

PSA: Having cellular connectivity or texting issues tonight?

You’re not alone…Tonight, many users are experiencing a myriad … more

[Q] Is Kingo not working at all?

178 posts
Thanks Meter: 26
 
By Oh_wow, Senior Member on 8th February 2014, 09:32 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
13th February 2014, 02:43 PM |#11  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turmin

Thank you.

Your welcome. It did take a few tries but it went. Be sure to update supersu when you finish, Kingo is out of date a couple of versions.
 
 
13th February 2014, 06:42 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
I tried 1000000 times last night and it did not work. I used Vroot and it worked great. But remember to do I factory reset to get rid of all the bad crap it loads.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
13th February 2014, 07:25 PM |#13  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NissanNick

I tried 1000000 times last night and it did not work. I used Vroot and it worked great. But remember to do I factory reset to get rid of all the bad crap it loads.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk

They must have just got Kingo working because I used it twice today. The second time worked on the first try. I tried it a second time after a full Oden reset just to make sure. Had some extra time today to play around.
13th February 2014, 07:36 PM |#14  
Senior Member
Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

They must have just got Kingo working because I used it twice today. The second time worked on the first try. I tried it a second time after a full Oden reset just to make sure. Had some extra time today to play around.

What firmware are you on? MJE?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
13th February 2014, 07:57 PM |#15  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
More
Yes, MJE.
14th February 2014, 01:19 AM |#16  
Senior Member
Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterxtc

Yes, MJE.

Worked for me too with MJE. Used USB 3.0 cable in USB 3.0 mode MTP. Prior to that failed in ODIN mode and in MTP mode without USB 3.0. But may be just random luck. Now have Supersu app.

Questions:
1. Should I use that Supersu or change. Looks like same old Supersu, but the version with yellow superman shield and red # sign.
2. Also, it asks if I want to disable Knox. Should I do that? Does that risk tripping know counter?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 01:31 AM |#17  
Misterxtc's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,132
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yearn2burn

Worked for me too with MJE. Used USB 3.0 cable in USB 3.0 mode MTP. Prior to that failed in ODIN mode and in MTP mode without USB 3.0. But may be just random luck. Now have Supersu app.

Questions:
1. Should I use that Supersu or change. Looks like same old Supersu, but the version with yellow superman shield and red # sign.
2. Also, it asks if I want to disable Knox. Should I do that? Does that risk tripping know counter?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Keep supersu but update it to the current v1.93 either by Play Store or flashing in safestrap and yes disable Knox it will not trip the counter. Enjoy.
The Following User Says Thank You to Misterxtc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2014, 03:09 AM |#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Yes K works even though it says it fails. I posted my experience back on Feb 3 in another similar thread or look via my profile. In short it will say that it failed but su app shows up and use a root checker to verify. Removal of sd card and pulling and replacing the sim card before root might help. Also watch you phone for a security permission to add an app. I sat an extra five minutes before realizing it.
14th February 2014, 03:23 AM |#19  
Senior Member
Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 55
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danthepunman

Yes K works even though it says it fails. I posted my experience back on Feb 3 in another similar thread In short it will say that it failed but su app shows up and use a root checker to verify.

For me it realized it succeeded.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes