Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Is there a jelly bean root for the Droid 4?

OP Michael_DW

18th January 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
hey guys, just wondering if there is a root method for the Motorola Droid 4 either OTA or other ways. sorry for noob question but ive tried to search for the answers else where.
18th January 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2207384
Check this out.

Sent from my DROID4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
19th January 2014, 05:37 PM   |  #3  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,058
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_DW

hey guys, just wondering if there is a root method for the Motorola Droid 4 either OTA or other ways. sorry for noob question but ive tried to search for the answers else where.

Yep, the Droid Utility is a great tool for this phone.
If you're new to this, maybe a little explanation may be helpful..
the Droid Utility is a collection of scripts or tools you can run one after the other. For your purpose, rooting the Droid4, you only would use option 3 - and if you want to run a custom rom on this tool, also option 4. (Google "How to Safestrap" for more info on that)
1) and 2) are if you want to flash your phone back to stock.
So download the utility, extract it.
Make sure you have the drivers installed (if you can connect to your phone as a mass storage device you should be ok)
Click on the run.bat file, choose option 3 and follow the onscreen instructions.
21st January 2014, 06:44 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag SL,UT
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Can droid utility unroot / flash back to stock after the latest update?
System 98.72.189.xt894
21st January 2014, 06:52 AM   |  #5  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,058
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabeggz

Can droid utility unroot / flash back to stock after the latest update?
System 98.72.189.xt894

??? What are you trying to get back to? droid utility can flash any firmware file you want - or use RSD lite to flash stock firmware..
But where are you and what are you trying to accomplish and why?
21st January 2014, 07:06 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag SL,UT
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Sorry, I'm a bit of a noob. I was rooted, took the latest OTA, restored root with voodoo. Now I just want to unroot and wipe it. Current
System 98.72.189.xt894 , Android 4.1.2, no custom Rom.

So I guess if I use option #1(I think) on droid utility, that should do what I need? Or is there something else I need to do as well since I took the recent ota?
21st January 2014, 07:10 AM   |  #7  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,058
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squabeggz

Sorry, I'm a bit of a noob. I was rooted, took the latest OTA, restored root with voodoo. Now I just want to unroot and wipe it. Current
System 98.72.189.xt894 , Android 4.1.2, no custom Rom.

So I guess if I use option #1(I think) on droid utility, that should do what I need? Or is there something else I need to do as well since I took the recent ota?

No- just choose option #1. The last OTA doesn't make a difference one way or the other...
14th February 2014, 05:30 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
well, my problem is that the latest update (97.82.189) would fail, so i unrooted with supersu, flashed stock with droid4 utility then installed the update without fail, now i cannot re-root the phone, ive follow all instructions of clearing smartactions cache and data before attempting, phone is in debug and ive tried on both mtp and camera usb modes several times with no luck, script seems to run through as it should but root never takes, im thinking i should have never used supersu to unroot and should have just flashed stock and tried the update, would really suck if i cannot get root back

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes