Back Up Your Telephony Data

XDA Recognized Developerbartitopresents thenewTelephony Data Backup app, to make manual or automated backups of … more

Change CyanogenMod 12 Lock Screen Wallpaper

By default, Android uses the same wallpaper for home screen and lock screen. With this guide by … more

Amazon Echo vs Google Now – Digital Assistant Showdown!

Two weeks ago, we talked about the must have item from Amazon, the Echo. In the … more

Hidden App Ops Found on LG G3 – No Root!

A redditor used Activty Launcher app to find a hidden feature on the LG G3 that is reminiscent … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] contacts issues

OP rexxxlo

14th February 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #1  
rexxxlo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag buffalo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
ok i got a weird issue happening

i have 568 contacts synced through google/gmail

the contacts are not staying synced i have saved contacts numerous times for people i talk to on a daily basis....the same number numerous times even.

but other contacts that i don't use have stayed synced with no problems

i have actually saves the same contact under different names many times and still have them not sync.

i have checked all of my sync settings and have them syncing correctly
i have the following sync systems setup
verizon backup assistant
exchange (through work)
facebook
3 google accounts (oddly the internet portion for one account does not sync )
htc
instigram
twitter
and yahoo

i cant seem to figure this one out does anyone else have this issue ?
14th February 2014, 08:27 AM   |  #2  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 676
 
2,034 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexxxlo

3 google accounts (oddly the internet portion for one account does not sync )

This point here kind of confuses me. Have you checked/enabled "internet" syncing for this account? i assume you know where you could selectively turn off and on syncing different items for an account. how did you conclude that internet does not sync for one account?

Syncing is been the basics of smartphones and i don't expect this to be a bug somewhere.

If you have got the time, i would suggest a system reset.
14th February 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #3  
mtran13's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Just for clarification, are you saving numbers and it is not syncing back to your Google account? I had this problem when I first got this phone since I am used to AOSP Roms. I noticed that I did not change my "Contact Type" to my Google account when saving new contacts. The default saves to your phone if you do not select another account. I am not sure if this is the issue you are experiencing. Good luck.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using xda app-developers app
Last edited by mtran13; 14th February 2014 at 11:53 AM.
14th February 2014, 04:18 PM   |  #4  
rexxxlo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag buffalo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

This point here kind of confuses me. Have you checked/enabled "internet" syncing for this account? i assume you know where you could selectively turn off and on syncing different items for an account. how did you conclude that internet does not sync for one account?

Syncing is been the basics of smartphones and i don't expect this to be a bug somewhere.

If you have got the time, i would suggest a system reset.

Yes that's right in the area where you can selectively choose what to sync the only thing that's ever an error is the internet for one account that says" sync is experiencing troubles please try again later "

I'll try a reset tonight and see what happens ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtran13

Just for clarification, are you saving numbers and it is not syncing back to your Google account? I had this problem when I first got this phone since I am used to AOSP Roms. I noticed that I did not change my "Contact Type" to my Google account when saving new contacts. The default saves to your phone if you do not select another account. I am not sure if this is the issue you are experiencing. Good luck.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using xda app-developers app

When you say your contact type do you mean yours or the contact tyour saving?

I'll have to dig through the settings a bit more.
14th February 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #5  
mtran13's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexxxlo

Yes that's right in the area where you can selectively choose what to sync the only thing that's ever an error is the internet for one account that says" sync is experiencing troubles please try again later "

I'll try a reset tonight and see what happens ....



When you say your contact type do you mean yours or the contact tyour saving?

I'll have to dig through the settings a bit more.

When you create a new contact it has a box that says "Contact Type". If you do not change it to Google, it will default to be saved on your phone only. That is all I can think of if you are saving a contact and it is not syncing. Unless it is a syncing problem throughout your phone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-14-10-44-21.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	110.1 KB
ID:	2579409  
14th February 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #6  
rexxxlo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag buffalo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtran13

When you create a new contact it has a box that says "Contact Type". If you do not change it to Google, it will default to be saved on your phone only. That is all I can think of if you are saving a contact and it is not syncing. Unless it is a syncing problem throughout your phone.


i never noticed what that has said ill have to check

thanks
15th February 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #7  
dottat's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,501
 
3,450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexxxlo

i never noticed what that has said ill have to check

thanks

In address book you can also chose to only display Google contacts or any combination of all your sources.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes