Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Factory Settings - pre operating-system

OP Dan in SA

14th February 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #1  
Dan in SA's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 11
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Back story: OTA update to 4.3 killed USB on this phone, so there is no USB access to it - at all. I don't have a Windows computer, so I never downloaded ODIN to root the phone. It is completely stock, other than the unlock code obtained from T-Mobile.

I just switched from T-Mobile to AT&T, and for some reason had no data connection on the phone, even with the correct APN settings. I decided to try a factory reset. I went through the system settings menu and found the "Reset to factory settings" menu item, selected it, acknowledged the warning, input my PIN and let it go to work.

A few minutes later, it had rebooted into recovery. Sicne it was there, I took the opportunity to use the boot-loader's reset function and wiped the cache while I was at it. That was a mistake.

Now, the phone won't boot past the pulsing Samsung logo. I can get back to the recovery, and it pops up these errors - first, the droid on his back with the red triangle over him flashes "No command", and then it dumps me to the recovery menu with this scrolled at the bottom of the screen:
Code:
 # MANUAL MODE #
-- Appling Multi-CSC...
Applied the CSC-code : TMB
Successfully applied multi-CSC
E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
can't mount '/data' (Invalid argument)
E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
E:Can't mount /data/log/recovery_log.txt
It's obviously soft bricked. I can't use ODIN to flash anything. But, since I'm at the recovery screen, it is giving me the option of loading an update from external storage - what should I put on the SD card to load in order to fix it? Can I fix it without ODIN?

edit to add:
I've already tried the stock UVUEMJC firmware from DocHoliday77's thread, but it threw a bunch of errors across the screen that I didn't catch in time and rebooted to the same point.
Last edited by Dan in SA; 14th February 2014 at 06:02 PM. Reason: more info
15th February 2014, 01:00 AM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,728
 
7,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try @saranhai's StockMod Rom. Put it on the External SD and flash it. If that fails, please post the error log.

On another note. can you try in Recovery and manually mount /Data Partition ?
15th February 2014, 09:32 PM   |  #3  
Dan in SA's Avatar
OP Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 11
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Try @saranhai's StockMod Rom. Put it on the External SD and flash it. If that fails, please post the error log.

On another note. can you try in Recovery and manually mount /Data Partition ?

Stuck @ work today, and I didn't bring it with me. I'll give that a shot when I get home tonight. I don't recall seeing a "mount" option in recovery - it's the stock Samsung recovery, I'm not sure I made that clear in the OP.

My Nexus 5 arrived last night, so this is becoming a project for me. I just want to know if I can make it work, but without USB access to it, that is probably a non-starter.
15th February 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #4  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,728
 
7,745 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you have Stock Rom, there isn't anything you could flash that way. At the most you could flash a Stock firmware via KIES.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes