Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,147 Members 49,112 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Data doesn't work

Tip us?
 
harry0717
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Default Data doesn't work

I had to reset the phone and I did so by clicking the button in Settings>Accounts and now the data doesn't work...

The wifi works, calling and messaging seems to be fine as well.

I am using the 4.3 version and I'm with Rogers.
 
dicksteele
Old
#2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,310
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I had to reset the phone and I did so by clicking the button in Settings>Accounts and now the data doesn't work...

The wifi works, calling and messaging seems to be fine as well.

I am using the 4.3 version and I'm with Rogers.
Double check your APN.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...63&postcount=2
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
harry0717
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Thank you so much for the help.

Now I got the data to work but on the top it shows H+ instead of LTE. Is that normal? Or did I do something wrong?
 
dicksteele
Old
#4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,310
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
Thank you so much for the help.

Now I got the data to work but on the top it shows H+ instead of LTE. Is that normal? Or did I do something wrong?
Sweet. Depends on rom your running. . You said 4.3 on Rogers. Is that stock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
 
dicksteele
Old
(Last edited by dicksteele; 15th February 2014 at 09:14 PM.)
#5  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,310
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Sweet. Depends on rom your running. . You said 4.3 on Rogers. Is that stock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Reading up a little on the differnences, and since I'm not sure what your apn settings are, I'm not sure what you are supposed to be getting.

I guess I should ask have you ever seen the 4G icons on your signal?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
 
harry0717
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Reading up a little on the differnences, and since I'm not sure what your apn settings are, I'm not sure what you are supposed to be getting.

I guess I should ask have you ever seen the 4G icons on your signal?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I had LTE icon before. I've tried using the APN from the link you gave me.

Rogers Canada

Name: Rogers
APN: rogers-core-appl1.apn
Proxy: not set
Port: not set
Username: not set
Password: not set
Server: not set
MMSC: http://mms.grps.rogers.com
MMS proxy: 10.128.1.69
MMS port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication type: not set
APN type: not set
 
dicksteele
Old
#7  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,310
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I had LTE icon before. I've tried using the APN from the link you gave me.

Rogers Canada

Name: Rogers
APN: rogers-core-appl1.apn
Proxy: not set
Port: not set
Username: not set
Password: not set
Server: not set
MMSC: http://mms.grps.rogers.com
MMS proxy: 10.128.1.69
MMS port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication type: not set
APN type: not set
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:13 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
And honestly, I'm using Google for solutions.

I've seen ltedata.apn and ltemobile.apn. looks like ltemobile.apn allows tethering.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
harry0717
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:13 PM ----------



And honestly, I'm using Google for solutions.

I've seen ltedata.apn and ltemobile.apn. looks like ltemobile.apn allows tethering.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I think it's working! I have the LTE icon now. It turns to H+ when I go downstairs though... I don't know if this will be a problem but anyways thanks!
 
dicksteele
Old
#9  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,310
Posts: 2,205
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I think it's working! I have the LTE icon now. It turns to H+ when I go downstairs though... I don't know if this will be a problem but anyways thanks!
Awesome.... Sometimes you get lucky.

Check texting and phone calls. Should be fine since that info was not changed.
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more