5,598,938 Members 30,982 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Data doesn't work

Tip us?
 
harry0717
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Default Data doesn't work

I had to reset the phone and I did so by clicking the button in Settings>Accounts and now the data doesn't work...

The wifi works, calling and messaging seems to be fine as well.

I am using the 4.3 version and I'm with Rogers.
 
dicksteele
Old
#2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 832
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I had to reset the phone and I did so by clicking the button in Settings>Accounts and now the data doesn't work...

The wifi works, calling and messaging seems to be fine as well.

I am using the 4.3 version and I'm with Rogers.
Double check your APN.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...63&postcount=2
Crazy? Some people think walking down the street muttering to yourself is crazy. I'll tell you what crazy is: Crazy is walking down the street with half a cantaloupe on your head, saying: "I'm a hamster. I'm a hamster." That's crazy.
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
harry0717
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Thank you so much for the help.

Now I got the data to work but on the top it shows H+ instead of LTE. Is that normal? Or did I do something wrong?
 
dicksteele
Old
#4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 832
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
Thank you so much for the help.

Now I got the data to work but on the top it shows H+ instead of LTE. Is that normal? Or did I do something wrong?
Sweet. Depends on rom your running. . You said 4.3 on Rogers. Is that stock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Crazy? Some people think walking down the street muttering to yourself is crazy. I'll tell you what crazy is: Crazy is walking down the street with half a cantaloupe on your head, saying: "I'm a hamster. I'm a hamster." That's crazy.
 
dicksteele
Old
(Last edited by dicksteele; 15th February 2014 at 09:14 PM.)
#5  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 832
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Sweet. Depends on rom your running. . You said 4.3 on Rogers. Is that stock?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Reading up a little on the differnences, and since I'm not sure what your apn settings are, I'm not sure what you are supposed to be getting.

I guess I should ask have you ever seen the 4G icons on your signal?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Crazy? Some people think walking down the street muttering to yourself is crazy. I'll tell you what crazy is: Crazy is walking down the street with half a cantaloupe on your head, saying: "I'm a hamster. I'm a hamster." That's crazy.
 
harry0717
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Reading up a little on the differnences, and since I'm not sure what your apn settings are, I'm not sure what you are supposed to be getting.

I guess I should ask have you ever seen the 4G icons on your signal?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I had LTE icon before. I've tried using the APN from the link you gave me.

Rogers Canada

Name: Rogers
APN: rogers-core-appl1.apn
Proxy: not set
Port: not set
Username: not set
Password: not set
Server: not set
MMSC: http://mms.grps.rogers.com
MMS proxy: 10.128.1.69
MMS port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication type: not set
APN type: not set
 
dicksteele
Old
#7  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 832
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I had LTE icon before. I've tried using the APN from the link you gave me.

Rogers Canada

Name: Rogers
APN: rogers-core-appl1.apn
Proxy: not set
Port: not set
Username: not set
Password: not set
Server: not set
MMSC: http://mms.grps.rogers.com
MMS proxy: 10.128.1.69
MMS port: 80
MCC: 302
MNC: 720
Authentication type: not set
APN type: not set
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:13 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
And honestly, I'm using Google for solutions.

I've seen ltedata.apn and ltemobile.apn. looks like ltemobile.apn allows tethering.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Crazy? Some people think walking down the street muttering to yourself is crazy. I'll tell you what crazy is: Crazy is walking down the street with half a cantaloupe on your head, saying: "I'm a hamster. I'm a hamster." That's crazy.
The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
harry0717
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Try changing rogers-core-appl1.apn to ----> ltemobile.apn

Keep everything else the same


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 04:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:13 PM ----------



And honestly, I'm using Google for solutions.

I've seen ltedata.apn and ltemobile.apn. looks like ltemobile.apn allows tethering.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I think it's working! I have the LTE icon now. It turns to H+ when I go downstairs though... I don't know if this will be a problem but anyways thanks!
 
dicksteele
Old
#9  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 832
Posts: 1,809
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by harry0717 View Post
I think it's working! I have the LTE icon now. It turns to H+ when I go downstairs though... I don't know if this will be a problem but anyways thanks!
Awesome.... Sometimes you get lucky.

Check texting and phone calls. Should be fine since that info was not changed.
Crazy? Some people think walking down the street muttering to yourself is crazy. I'll tell you what crazy is: Crazy is walking down the street with half a cantaloupe on your head, saying: "I'm a hamster. I'm a hamster." That's crazy.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more

Easily Configure Xposed Module Projects in Eclipse

XDA Recognized Developer rovo89‘s innovative and versatile Xposed Framework allows … more