Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

CMD wont Change to \Android

OP bb2si

16th February 2014, 08:46 PM   |  #1  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!
16th February 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,414
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 04:33 AM   |  #3  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?
17th February 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,414
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #5  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?
17th February 2014, 04:50 AM   |  #6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,414
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?

Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #7  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

It was in the sdk\platform-tools folder.

Does the command line have to be directed to the folder containing the fastboot application file? Inside said platform-tools folder is the fastboot file as well as the ApbWinApi.dll file.
17th February 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #8  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
OH! I think I got it! I'll report back with final details...

Keep your fingers crossed!!!
17th February 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #9  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,414
 
3,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

OH! I think I got it! I'll report back with final details...

Keep your fingers crossed!!!

Lol....didn't I say platform tools the first time ? Good luck man...

Btw if you get it working you just learned one of the most important prerequisites for android modding.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
Last edited by dottat; 17th February 2014 at 05:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dottat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #10  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Lol....didn't I say platform tools the first time ? Good luck man...

Btw if you get it working you just learned one of the most important prerequisites for android modding.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

Yep! Unlocked the bootloader successfully! Now, I'm trying to Root and the instructions I'm following are good, but I'm stuck again - It says to run CMD and use the command "adb devices." It comes back with nothing found, yet, according to the instructions my phone's serial number should be listed. I placed the Superuser.zip file in the phone's storage (per requisite) and tried to run the command with the phone on normally and again in the bootloader.

No luck... Suggestions?


Edit: USB Debugging wasn't on... Trying again...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes