XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

CMD wont Change to \Android

OP bb2si

16th February 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!
16th February 2014, 08:06 PM   |  #2  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,129
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I just purchased the Sprint variant of the HTC One Max and decided to unlock the bootloader to root it. I followed the instructions up to the point where I have to have to run the fastboot command in CMD. The example shows the CMD changing its directory to \Android. When I try to do this, I'm given the error: "The system cannot find the path specified." I tried just doing fastboot command, but came back with "fastboot is not recognized..."

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. Android SDK, Java Runtime, and HTC Sync are all installed and updated.

Thanks in advance!

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #3  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

You need to run cmd prompt as admin and CD to wherever the platform tools folder is installed (part of the sdk)...

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?
17th February 2014, 03:35 AM   |  #4  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,129
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

Thank you for the quick reply.

This worked, but when I attempt to run the command for the fastboot I get an error saying "The program can't start because AdbWinApi.dll is missing from your computer."

Was this something that was supposed to be installed from one of the Android SDK installs?

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #5  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Sounds like part of it didn't install correctly. Rinse and repeat. Maybe something got hosed in your earlier attempts.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?
17th February 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #6  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,129
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

I happened to have found the file in a different folder. Should I just drag and drop it into the adt folder?

Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
17th February 2014, 03:57 AM   |  #7  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Which folder and what else was in it ?

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

It was in the sdk\platform-tools folder.

Does the command line have to be directed to the folder containing the fastboot application file? Inside said platform-tools folder is the fastboot file as well as the ApbWinApi.dll file.
17th February 2014, 03:58 AM   |  #8  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
OH! I think I got it! I'll report back with final details...

Keep your fingers crossed!!!
17th February 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #9  
dottat's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag york, pa
Thanks Meter: 1,129
 
2,538 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb2si

OH! I think I got it! I'll report back with final details...

Keep your fingers crossed!!!

Lol....didn't I say platform tools the first time ? Good luck man...

Btw if you get it working you just learned one of the most important prerequisites for android modding.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk
Last edited by dottat; 17th February 2014 at 04:10 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dottat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #10  
bb2si's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 17
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dottat

Lol....didn't I say platform tools the first time ? Good luck man...

Btw if you get it working you just learned one of the most important prerequisites for android modding.

Sent from my HTC6600LVW using Tapatalk

Yep! Unlocked the bootloader successfully! Now, I'm trying to Root and the instructions I'm following are good, but I'm stuck again - It says to run CMD and use the command "adb devices." It comes back with nothing found, yet, according to the instructions my phone's serial number should be listed. I placed the Superuser.zip file in the phone's storage (per requisite) and tried to run the command with the phone on normally and again in the bootloader.

No luck... Suggestions?


Edit: USB Debugging wasn't on... Trying again...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes