FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

CM, Micromax and OnePlus – Sales Ban Lifted

It’s less than a week since our recent in-depth analysis of the legal battle over the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ViperOne 4.3 Hotspot problems [SOLVED]

OP Str8away

20th January 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
I have upgraded to this Rom and have not found any way to get hotspot working. Is there a different kernal I need to flash or something. I have unlimited and native connects, but no data. Tether with TrevE mod keeps starting with errors and won't create a log file to see the error. Does not broadcast SSID. Really didn't expect to have these problems on a rooted Rom. Any suggestions??

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
Last edited by Str8away; 14th February 2014 at 04:31 AM. Reason: Problem SOLVED
14th February 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8away

I have upgraded to this Rom and have not found any way to get hotspot working. Is there a different kernal I need to flash or something. I have unlimited and native connects, but no data. Tether with TrevE mod keeps starting with errors and won't create a log file to see the error. Does not broadcast SSID. Really didn't expect to have these problems on a rooted Rom. Any suggestions??

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Thanks to Carm01, I was able to compare my default.xml file with the one he posted and found something to try. I believe it was a Tether_Guard setting that was 0 (zero) in the ViperOne Rom and it was a 2 in the version posted by Carm01. I simply used Root Browser to edit the value on my phone and no other changes. Rebooted phone after saving file and BINGO! Working great with the native Hotspot & Hotspot Toggle widget.

Hopefully this can help someone else running ViperOne 4.3 and wants tethering to work.
Last edited by Str8away; 14th February 2014 at 04:32 AM. Reason: Typo
14th February 2014, 06:58 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Native tethering works fine for me on vipers 4.3 from the get go.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 02:00 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Jedi

Native tethering works fine for me on vipers 4.3 from the get go.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Good to hear. Although I installed viper 4.3 on my wife's phone and mine. Both had the same problems tethering (connect but not data). No idea what could have caused the difference, but at least it works for us now.
14th February 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 591
 
1,874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
You running ad blocker?

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
16th February 2014, 09:04 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Jedi

You running ad blocker?

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Not on my phone. But I do use it on my computers for Chrome.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes