FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Help ROOT new firmware

65 posts
Thanks Meter: 18
 
By ianneo, Member on 14th February 2014, 02:00 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi I want to install a custom rom on my mega since Touchwiz isn't that great. The last time I tried to root, I hard bricked. I'm too scared to try again so can any one tell me if I'm OK to root or shall I wait for new root kernel or something like that. I've done this kind of stuff on my old S2 and my Nexus 7 but I'm new to the way to Mega works, so can anyone tell me a link or tell me it's OK to root with my recently updated firmware. Thanks

Sent from my GT-I9200 using Tapatalk
 
 
14th February 2014, 04:47 PM |#2  
starmaster10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saskatoon
Thanks Meter: 255
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianneo

Hi I want to install a custom rom on my mega since Touchwiz isn't that great. The last time I tried to root, I hard bricked. I'm too scared to try again so can any one tell me if I'm OK to root or shall I wait for new root kernel or something like that. I've done this kind of stuff on my old S2 and my Nexus 7 but I'm new to the way to Mega works, so can anyone tell me a link or tell me it's OK to root with my recently updated firmware. Thanks



Sent from my GT-I9200 using Tapatalk

Did you ever try Kingo Android Root as you install it on your pc and just follow the info in the program, it is easy to use and works very well on rooting many different models of Samsung phones.
14th February 2014, 04:50 PM |#3  
Silesh.Nair's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6,812
 
Donate to Me
More
You can't. You are running knox enabled firmware. You try to flash custom recovery, you'll brick again afaik.

Try this if you are bold.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2574953
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Silesh.Nair For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Silesh.Nair Ad-Free
14th February 2014, 05:12 PM |#4  
starmaster10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saskatoon
Thanks Meter: 255
 
More
Oh okay do not root then as i didn't notice that the knox security is present, but i see now it is..sorry about that and thanks @Silesh.Nair for noticing that.
14th February 2014, 05:25 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Surabaya
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
@Silesh.Nair

I hate this new firmware GT I9200 XXUCNA5 XSE ( Indonesian ), any idea how to downgrade??? I still could use CWM to format/system and when finished flash XXUBMJ4 XSE and Secure FAIL : Kernel show up, then I flash again XXUCNA5 and back to normal again, and I flash CWM 6.0.3.2 and super su 1.93 and not busybox included, my factory app MAPS and YOUTUBE stop working and everytime I restart my I9200 at first on must wait until MAPS and YOUTUBE pop up UNFORTUNATELY ... HAS STOP WORKING, then I could use my device. This Real annoying, even I have disabled those things at application manager, my mind always being a terror that there were 2 app couldn't be used, just affraid I need them in the future.

Any Idea Silesh.Nair???
What's your reccomendation for CWM and Super SU???
I don't want to use CWM 6.0.4.7 coz a terrible interface and function, Now I still use CWM 6.0.3.2
I Really Regret for upgrading to XXUCNA5, if there's a way to rollback to XXUBMJ4, I will do it.

Thank You So Much Silesh.Nair
14th February 2014, 05:55 PM |#6  
Silesh.Nair's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6,812
 
Donate to Me
More
I don't think you can go back to any older firmware, not even a nandroid backup. Sorry man, I think you are stuck with it.

I am not an expert on knox, so I'll keep looking if there is a way out. I used the stock firmware only for 5 minutes after I got my phone. Its been custom roms all along.

---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:03 PM ----------

For your maps and YouTube issue, Valentel asks you to remove them from the system folder and then download from playstore.

Sent from my GT-I9205 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Silesh.Nair For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Silesh.Nair Ad-Free
15th February 2014, 06:51 PM |#7  
trurl3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Warszawa
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
Thumbs down
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silesh.Nair

I don't think you can go back to any older firmware, not even a nandroid backup. Sorry man, I think you are stuck with it.

I am not an expert on knox, so I'll keep looking if there is a way out. I used the stock firmware only for 5 minutes after I got my phone. Its been custom roms all along.[COLOR="Silver"]

As for now there is NO WAY to go back when one upgrade to KNOX-ed firmware. This is hardware driven thing, so forget... and enjoy your new shiny firmware with KNOX on behind... It's really pitty so that many people do not read nothing about theirs expensive phones before trying something unrecoverable, sometimes the very second day after purchasing... I will always try to help, but in this case there is nothing to do.
16th February 2014, 09:54 PM |#8  
ianneo's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trurl3

As for now there is NO WAY to go back when one upgrade to KNOX-ed firmware. This is hardware driven thing, so forget... and enjoy your new shiny firmware with KNOX on behind... It's really pitty so that many people do not read nothing about theirs expensive phones before trying something unrecoverable, sometimes the very second day after purchasing... I will always try to help, but in this case there is nothing to do.

Well, we're just going to have to wait for Kit Kat. Hurry up Samsung!

Sent from my GT-I9200 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes