Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] z5s 3g modem

OP dozycat

7th February 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I have a ZTE nubia Z5S.
It is great. but 3g is only in 2600 mhz. So only edge for me for now.
Looking around I found some people are trying to unlock the modem and they says the modem supports other bands.


Any idea how to unlock the modem, a new firmware ?

Commands to check the modem?

wait so the z5s gets released in at&t and get a rom? ( I know is a long shot)

Some people is asking roms with the bands released ( someone in miui was working the modem)

Any guide to learn is welcome.
8th February 2014, 03:43 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 40
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
According to http://www.nubia.cn/productdetail.php?id=335, Nubia Z5S supports 3G with the UMTS/WCDMA protocol on the 2100MHz spectrum.
When you say 2600MHz, do you mean LTE or 3G?
Anyway, the WTR1605 tranceiver used on Nubia Z5S has no LTE support, otherwise is capable to handle many UMTS bands, but ZTE might have locked down some. This is the good news.
8th February 2014, 06:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
you are right,

In my country we need:

CLARO
GSM: 850MHz
UMTS/HSDPA: 850Mhz
MOVISTAR (Virgin Mobile)
GSM: 850MHz
UMTS/HSDPA: 850Mhz
TIGO (Uff, UNE y ETB)
GSM: 1900MHz
UMTS/HSDPA: 1900MHz

now ready to learn about unlock bands
Last edited by dozycat; 8th February 2014 at 06:10 PM. Reason: grammatical errors
10th February 2014, 02:28 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
anyone has experience with the baseband switcher?

It is possible to use it to change baseband if the z5s is rooted?

Or I need to install cyanagenmod and then use the baseband switcher?
12th February 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I tried:

to open a terminal:
adb shell

then:
am start -n com.android.settings/.BandMode

I tries to open a window in the cell but the window is empty
15th February 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I did the command from terminal after su, so the command ran as superuser.

But the same result a window with tittle but no menus.

It looks like that command is for mtk cpus.

Anyone know how to change the bands to automatic snpadragons cpus?
16th February 2014, 11:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
FInally I am getting some place,

I got to the wlan settings, I typed the code *#*#4636#*# inside notepad and copy the code.
Paste in the phone.

I got the menu:

Testing
Phone Information
Battery Information
Usage Statics
Wlan information

I go, WLAN information -> WLAN API

I got the menu:

WLAN settings
disableNetwork
disconnect
enableNetwork
getconfiguredNetworks
getConnectionInfo

Half the menus are not working, but If got to enableNetwork asks:

Input
Enter Network Id:


SO Anyone knows What codes I need to use there?
17th February 2014, 01:56 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
well, I got the list of the bands supported by the modem using att commands:

AT$QCBANDPREF=?
$QCBANDPREF: (0-1),
"1.BC0_A"
"2.BC0_B"
"3.BC0"
"4.BC1"
"5.BC3"
"6.BC4"
"7.BC5"
"8.GSM_DCS_1800"
"9.GSM_EGSM_900"
"10.GSM_PGSM_900"
"11.BC6"
"12.BC7"
"13.BC8"
"14.BC9"
"15.BC10"
"16.BC11"
"17.BC12"
"18.BC14"
"19.BC15"
"20.BC16
"21.GSM_450"
"22.GSM_480"
"23.GSM_750"
"24.GSM_850"
"25.GSM_RGSM_900"
"26.GSM_PCS_1900"
"27.WCDMA_I_IMT_2000"
"28.WCDMA_II_PCS_1900"
"29.WCDMA_III_1700 "
"30.WCDMA_IV_1700"
"31.WCDMA_V_850"
"32.WCDMA_VI_800 "
"33.WCDMA_VII_2600"
"34.WCDMA_VIII_900"
"35.WCDMA_IX_1700"
"36.WLAN_US_2400 "
"37.WLAN_JAPAN_2400"
"38.WLAN_EUROPE_2400"
"39.WLAN_SPAIN_2400"
"40.WLAN_FRANCE_2400 "
"41.WLAN_US_5000"
"42.WLAN_JAPAN_5000"
"43.WLAN_EUROPE_5000"
"44.WLAN_SPAIN_5000"
"45.WLAN_FRANCE_5000 "
"46.Any"


Any help what this mean?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes