Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SOLVED] Undo Changes in ServiceMode?

OP colton22

16th February 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Hello again, I really think I messed up this time as I was trying to unlock my phone (alt carriers). I followed directions off a vague website and didn't realize it wasn't for my specific device. Any who, this is what I did.

Hidden menus were already enabled..
Dialer "*#0011#"
Menu > Back
Menu > Key Input "1"
Debug Screen > Phone Control > Network Lock
Selected PERSO SHA256 OFF

Went back to the main menu
Common > NV Rebuild > Restore Backup

Ever since doing this regardless if I revert and turn SHA back on I have data, I can text but cannot place a phone call and I get bumped off network once and a while. Any idea how I can revert these changes?
I have already factory reset / reinstalled the Rom from scratch. No change and my next step would be odin but I was hoping to avoid having to go through all that.

Any ideas?

Thank you all in advance,

Colton 22
Last edited by colton22; 16th February 2014 at 11:11 PM. Reason: Swype typos
16th February 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
more info
I have also confirmed that doing an Odin I still have the same issue. .. Should I contact vzw and say my headphone jack is bad? Downloading Stock ot a update now which I dont want to do... Lock the phone down ...
16th February 2014, 11:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Thumbs up [SOLVED] I have been able to revert changes to ServiceMode
I had to Odin back to stock (before root).. I used the No-wipe method offered from my phone.

secondly I actually updated stock OTA software (process failed so it didnt work ^_^ )
- (dont think this step is needed however i did it and it didnt change me to any new version. Still on MDK thankfully)

Factory reset from within system settings and allow it to delete all local sdcard data doing so,

Problem solved. Just working on getting back to my full custom status now !

ALSO FOR INFORMATION

After calling Verizon and asking if they could walk me through the process of unlocking my phone's sim card for othercarriers i was informed that the Verizion GS4 is already unlocked and shouldnt need any alt methods to do it. Just change Mobile Networks to GSM and shut down. Insert new SIM and power on.

Colton22
17th February 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #4  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colton22

I had to Odin back to stock (before root).. I used the No-wipe method offered from my phone.

secondly I actually updated stock OTA software (process failed so it didnt work ^_^ )
- (dont think this step is needed however i did it and it didnt change me to any new version. Still on MDK thankfully)

Factory reset from within system settings and allow it to delete all local sdcard data doing so,

Problem solved. Just working on getting back to my full custom status now !

ALSO FOR INFORMATION

After calling Verizon and asking if they could walk me through the process of unlocking my phone's sim card for othercarriers i was informed that the Verizion GS4 is already unlocked and shouldnt need any alt methods to do it. Just change Mobile Networks to GSM and shut down. Insert new SIM and power on.

Colton22

Yup. It's not locked from the factory since they can't. I don't know what you did to your phone with the config rebuild from some random backup, but it's apparently not good. And all this to unlock something that wasn't locked in the first place. Sad.
The Following User Says Thank You to k1mu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 04:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Cool
The backup wasn't a random one, it's generated while in service mode called the 'golden backup'. There is speculation it was meant to be the script to unlock the phone but this proves that wrong. All seems well so far but I have read of others with this same issue after following the first result on Google about unlocking the GS4 (not vzw specific).

I don't understand how this could be classified as sad though. Sad would involve ignorance, not acts from being naive.

Best regards,

Colton22
17th February 2014, 04:35 AM   |  #6  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,580
 
1,925 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by colton22

The backup wasn't a random one, it's generated while in service mode called the 'golden backup'. There is speculation it was meant to be the script to unlock the phone but this proves that wrong. All seems well so far but I have read of others with this same issue after following the first result on Google about unlocking the GS4 (not vzw specific).

I don't understand how this could be classified as sad though. Sad would involve ignorance, not acts from being naive.

Best regards,

Colton22

"Sad" as in getting and acting on bad advice. It's sad that there's so much info out there that doesn't tell people when it applies and when it doesn't, leading folks down the wrong path. YouTube is full of that kind of noise.
The Following User Says Thank You to k1mu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Thumbs up
Indeed it is and the more popular the phone is, the more half truths are available. I do hope this post helps others who had the same issue.

When I started this I was with
Hyperdrive RLS13 OCd UVd Xposed on KToons Kernel.

Take care all and know your sources ha! Lesson learned.

Colton22
Last edited by colton22; 17th February 2014 at 04:42 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gs4, no service, servicemode, sha, verizon
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes