Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: This Tutorial Worked For You?
Yes 4 66.67%
No 3 50.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[TUTORIAL] How To Port Any ROM

OP pranavaryans

17th February 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #1  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More

If it Helped then help me through recharging my vodafone(INDIA) Number : +91 9586999937
How To Port Any ROM To TAB2



Things you will need installed on your PC
Notepad++
Winzip/Winrar

Q) What device should i port from?

Any Device

Base ROM and PORT ROM

Base ROM is what is Developed For Tab2

Port ROM is what ROM you want to port for Tab2

Note: If you are porting a CM(PORT) which is ICS the BASE should Be cm9... same for JB

Now Let's start Porting!
Extract the BASE ROM to a Folder named Base
Extract the PORT ROM to a Folder named Port
Open Base ROM and go to system folder
DELETE "app,fonts,framework,media"
Open Port ROM and go to system folder
COPY "app,fonts,framework,media"
and paste it in System folder of the Base ROM
Open Port ROM and go to etc folder
Open Permissions Folder copy everything EXCEPT handheld_core_hardware.xml and platform
and paste it in the etc folder of the BASE ROM
Open Base ROM and go to system/etc/init.d folder
DELETE all files except 00banner
Open Port ROM and go to system/etc/init.d Folder
COPY everything Except 00banner
and paste it in the init.d folder of the BASE ROM

Now open build.prop And edit


ro.build.display.id=add what you want here
ro.modversion=add what you want here

Now open build.prop of PORT ROM and find

ro.config.ringtone=
ro.config.notification_sound=
ro.config.alarm_alert=

COPY there 3 lines and replace them in the BASE ROM's build.prop

Now Open updater-script

scroll down and find the lines starting with set_perm (there will be lots of them!)

Copy only those lines From PORT ROM's updater-script to BASE ROM's updater-script

If You find any extra file or folder in system folder of PORT rom than copy them to your base rom system folder.

Open updater-script from PORT ROM and copy all the set_perm lines and replace them with the lines in BASE ROM

To prevent bootloop copy

libandroid_runtime.so
libandroid_servers.so
libmedia_jni.so

from system/lib in PORT ROM and REPLACE it with the files in system/lib of BASE ROM

Now ZIP the ROM and flash it

THIS WILL WORK....
Last edited by pranavaryans; 17th February 2014 at 10:04 AM.
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to pranavaryans For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #2  
iamashwin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mysore
Thanks Meter: 340
 
442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Donate to Me
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by pranavaryans

How To Port Any ROM To TAB2.....................................
.................................................. .............

THIS WILL WORK....

Well not to discourage you but there are already a lot of threads like this out there so why one more?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to iamashwin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 09:55 AM   |  #3  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Post
Ht seen this kind of thread in TA2 forum that's why... if there is then sorry...
17th February 2014, 10:00 AM   |  #4  
talkingmonkeys's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,118
 
1,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamashwin

Well not to discourage you but there are already a lot of threads like this out there so why one more?

Helped me because it was on the first page when I loaded the app and now I learned something else thats useful thank you

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to talkingmonkeys For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 10:02 AM   |  #5  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by talkingmonkeys

Helped me because it was on the first page when I loaded the app and now I learned something else thats useful thank you

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app

thank you bro..
17th February 2014, 10:09 AM   |  #6  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Help me by telling me that how to use BITCOIN : My bitcoin address --->18Bp5xj68Z9Ppru84ryzpDBqF1B3JnjfS
17th February 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #7  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Angry
Mod edit: Link removed. Please don't post material which require you to register to external sites.
Last edited by stamatis; 17th February 2014 at 01:51 PM.
19th February 2014, 02:52 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Thank you very much for your tutorial.
19th February 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #9  
pranavaryans's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Rajkot
Thanks Meter: 221
 
400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by LioCraft

Thank you very much for your tutorial.

Your welcome @LioCraft
23rd February 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Thank you much

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes