Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,198 Members 47,815 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can I jump from 4.04 stock to CM11

Tip us?
 
AkFatherof4nCounting
Old
#1  
AkFatherof4nCounting's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 92
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fairbanks
Default Can I jump from 4.04 stock to CM11

Title says it all. Do I need to ease into 4.4.2 when coming from stock ICS, or can I just take the plunge?
 
Butchr
Old
#2  
Butchr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 152
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkFatherof4nCounting View Post
Title says it all. Do I need to ease into 4.4.2 when coming from stock ICS, or can I just take the plunge?
You need to have the latest recovery installed before you can flash >4.4.
 
AkFatherof4nCounting
Old
#3  
AkFatherof4nCounting's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 92
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fairbanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butchr View Post
You need to have the latest recovery installed before you can flash >4.4.
Thank you, I did put the newest CWM on the phone. I didn't know if I had to upgrade to JB before switching right up to 4.4.2, or if I needed to jump to CM10 first. I had a phone that required you go to at least CM9 before moving into 10. Thank you for the reply.
 
ddochi11
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 77
Posts: 259
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC
You can go from ICS to JB to KK and back to ICS if you want. It doesn't matter.
LG Optimus G E971 - CM11
Galaxy Note i717 - AOKP 4.4.2
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - Complete stock 4.2.2, self-debloated
 
shayneflashindaily
Old
#5  
shayneflashindaily's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,077
Posts: 3,886
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hendersonville NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkFatherof4nCounting View Post
Thank you, I did put the newest CWM on the phone. I didn't know if I had to upgrade to JB before switching right up to 4.4.2, or if I needed to jump to CM10 first. I had a phone that required you go to at least CM9 before moving into 10. Thank you for the reply.
Once you have latest recovery installed you can flash away

*S.O.F.A*2SHAYNEZ*K.C.C.O*
>>>> If I or anyone else helped-you, then •Remember to hit the Thank-You Button• Or Donate<<<<
 
AkFatherof4nCounting
Old
#6  
AkFatherof4nCounting's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 92
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fairbanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayneflashindaily View Post
Once you have latest recovery installed you can flash away

*S.O.F.A*2SHAYNEZ*K.C.C.O*
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddochi11 View Post
You can go from ICS to JB to KK and back to ICS if you want. It doesn't matter.

Thanks guys, that was the answer I was looking for. Just wanted to play it safe before doing anything.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes