Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,356 Members 39,139 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No GPS without data.

Tip us?
 
dellhem
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Oslo
Default No GPS without data.

Hi.

I'm overall satisfied with my Xperia Z1 but there's one problem that I find very annoying.
Whenever I'm travelling and not roaming, the GPS won't work. Why is this? GPS shouldn't need to use regular data.

I use cached maps in Google Maps.

Thanks // Patrik
 
eclyptos
Old
(Last edited by eclyptos; 17th February 2014 at 03:32 PM.)
#2  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 2,991
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
It do not need network. It can have support via network but is not the main function. If you keep moving the GPS gets even 10 minutes to find the satellite. Turn on GPS, turn on Airmode, go out from building leave the phone for 1o minutes to find the signal.

BTW, the Maps or Navigation in Android working with Network, are you sure you get the right application? Use Offline Navigators.
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)

How Get Root on Sony Xperia Z1 with Locked Bootloader and the Latest Android 4.4
 
dellhem
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
It do not need network. It can have support via network but is not the main function. If you keep moving the GPS gets even 10 minutes to find the satellite. Turn on GPS, turn on Airmode, go out from building leave the phone for 1o minutes to find the signal.

BTW, the Maps or Navigation in Android working with Network, are you sure you get the right application? Use Offline Navigators.
What is airmode?
I was in London last weekend and the GPS was completely useless. I was of course outside and walking around.

I don't see why an offline navigator would make a difference from cached maps in Google Maps. Could you please elaborate your statement?
 
Daelyn
Old
#4  
Daelyn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 155
Posts: 668
Join Date: Dec 2006
Something called GPS Assistance Data is downloaded at regular intervals. It contains positioning data for the satellites. If that data is too old, I'm unsure if it's outdated daily or weekly, it will take the phone a long time to get a fix on the satellites.

Download a free app called "GPS Status" to test the behavior. In that app you can also reset GPS and download a fresh Assistance Data set.

Google a bit about A-GPS and you'll find tonnes of info.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
 

========== Current hardware =================
Sony Xperia Z1 Black > Awaiting AOSP
Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini > Running AOSP
=============== Stolen =====================
Samsung Galaxy SIII // Pebble Blue
ROM: The cleanest AOSP found.
============= Retired section ================
HTC Desire AMOLED // Custom H-Boot
ROM: Oxygen 2.3.2 Clean and lean!
Radio: 32.54.00.32U_5.14.05.17 + RIL
 
zimbashka
Old
(Last edited by zimbashka; 18th February 2014 at 10:38 PM.)
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 76
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
You might want to check if GPS functions normally through service test menu.
in dialer press *#*#7378423#*#*
Service Tests -->GPS-->GPS Location Test
If you get readings on your location and time it took then your phone is fine.
Then check out settings-->Location services--> Enable GPS satellites.
it might have been accidentally disabled by stamina mode or by user.
Phones owned: Siemens A35,C35,A55,M55,C62,C65,M65; Alcatel 310; Samsung A800; Nokia 5210; LG TU720; BB 9530,9800;Sony Ericsson Z520a, W580i, Xperia X10a;
Still keeping: Sony Xperia S (Lt26i), Sony Xperia Z1(C6906).
 
eclyptos
Old
#6  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 2,991
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn View Post
Something called GPS Assistance Data is downloaded at regular intervals. It contains positioning data for the satellites. If that data is too old, I'm unsure if it's outdated daily or weekly, it will take the phone a long time to get a fix on the satellites.
You are right, but this is not the issue, like I said it will just get more time to get the satellite but actually I don't think he was out of date because he has connected to network days before and in London to via WiFi for sure, Right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn View Post
Download a free app called "GPS Status" to test the behavior. In that app you can also reset GPS and download a fresh Assistance Data set.

Google a bit about A-GPS and you'll find tonnes of info.
I don't think this will make a difference but give it a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
What is airmode?
Sorry, my bad, I mean Airplane Mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
I was in London last weekend and the GPS was completely useless. I was of course outside and walking around.
This explain all, in London with the density of buildings and people the GPS have always problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
I don't see why an offline navigator would make a difference from cached maps in Google Maps. Could you please elaborate your statement?
Google Maps most of the time use network for your position and when there is no network it just cant get the signals and positions, Tom Tom use GPS only, for example.
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)

How Get Root on Sony Xperia Z1 with Locked Bootloader and the Latest Android 4.4
The Following User Says Thank You to eclyptos For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dellhem
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Oslo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daelyn View Post
Something called GPS Assistance Data is downloaded at regular intervals. It contains positioning data for the satellites. If that data is too old, I'm unsure if it's outdated daily or weekly, it will take the phone a long time to get a fix on the satellites.

Download a free app called "GPS Status" to test the behavior. In that app you can also reset GPS and download a fresh Assistance Data set.

Google a bit about A-GPS and you'll find tonnes of info.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
As mentioned I was connected the same day via WiFi but I'll check it out. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimbashka View Post
You might want to check if GPS functions normally through service test menu.
in dialer press *#*#7378423*#*#
Service Tests -->GPS-->GPS Location Test
If you get readings on your location and time it took then your phone is fine.
Then check out settings-->Location services--> Enable GPS satellites.
it might have been accidentally disabled by stamina mode or by user.
Don't think there's a problem with the GPS but that code doesn't work: "Invalid MMI code"


Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
You are right, but this is not the issue, like I said it will just get more time to get the satellite but actually I don't think he was out of date because he has connected to network days before and in London to via WiFi for sure, Right?
Right.


Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
Sorry, my bad, I mean Airplane Mode.
Ok, so then you also meant "turn off"? =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
This explain all, in London with the density of buildings and people the GPS have always problems!
Yeah sure. But is this a big problem in all big cities? I remember I had the same problem in Paris as well.


Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
Google Maps most of the time use network for your position and when there is no network it just cant get the signals and positions, Tom Tom use GPS only, for example.
Ok. I don't really understand how positioning works just through the internet though. Sure, trianglulation, but that's through the cell receivers which I'm connected to all the time. How can the phone know where I am just by being connected to the internet via WiFi?
 
eclyptos
Old
#8  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 2,991
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
Ok, so then you also meant "turn off"? =)


Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
Yeah sure. But is this a big problem in all big cities? I remember I had the same problem in Paris as well.
I know, it should not have this problems but actually it does. I remember I had to wait more than 10 minutes to get the signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellhem View Post
Ok. I don't really understand how positioning works just through the internet though. Sure, trianglulation, but that's through the cell receivers which I'm connected to all the time. How can the phone know where I am just by being connected to the internet via WiFi?
I know but actually I know this problem from long time, in fact when you buy or download a Navigation you always have to check if it's working Offline or Online. Difference is that, Offline Navigation use downloaded maps, Online use maps from Network and this make huge difference and when you are without Network it not working. Maybe today is different but I remember it was like that. Download a simply GPS Tester to check if you get the satellite, if it does then is not the problem of you GPS but of the Application. Then I recommend to use the Offline Neavigators for GPS Only.
IF I HELPED DO NOT SAY THANKS, CLICK IT.
My Evolution: Sony Xperia Z1 - UB + 4.3 Rooted + Deodexed, HTC HD2, HTC Diamond 2, HTC HD Blackstone, Nokia 7070 Prism, Qtek 9100, Nokia 3100, Motorola T720i, Nokia 3310, Sony Ericson PF 768 (Blue)

How Get Root on Sony Xperia Z1 with Locked Bootloader and the Latest Android 4.4
 
gandalf_grey91
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 209
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos View Post
This explain all, in London with the density of buildings and people the GPS have always problems!
No, it doesn't explain it and No, there isn't always a problem with GPS. Where did you get that from?

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 PM ----------

My Z1 has similarly bad GPS lock times but is under 20 seconds with "Use Wi-fi and data network" enabled to provide additional info. Google seems to have something to do to this because to enable the setting you must agree to them stealing further info about your habits.

My 3 year old HTC gets lock in under 20 seconds with no GLONASS and without "Use Wi-fi and data network" enabled.
Sony Xperia Z1 running heavily customised Stock KitKat 4.4.4 (14.4.A.0.108)
Motorola Atrix (x2) running Nottachtrix 1.3.1 (DeBlur-ed, running Ubuntop v.1.1.1) and Neutrino 3.02
HTC Incredible S running VivoKat (ART)
Sony Xperia SP (LTE) (x2) both running heavily customised stock ROM (4.3/4.2.2)
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 running CM11
Nook HD+ running dual boot (CM11 (ART) / Stock 2.2.0)
HTC Desire running RSK ORIOLA Xperia Z 3.0 (CM10)
ZTE Skate running CM10
ZTE Blade running CM10
 
bimjunk
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 30
Join Date: Sep 2008
From services mode delete the assisted gps data and it will download new ones when u a connected to wifi or mobile data...after that even if u are not connected to network u should get a lock pretty faat...but this data expires pretty soon cuz sat positions keep changing...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes