FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] Proximity sensor problem

493 posts
Thanks Meter: 155
 
By sixline, Senior Member on 13th February 2014, 05:35 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi there, I think my DHD's proximity sensor is not working, i.e. screen is not turning off during calls resulting in disconnections. I installed Android Sensor Box from play store. Its indicating that proximity sensor is present but always at 9 cm even I covered the top portion of the screen. What do you guys suggest, is it a faulty sensor? I am using latest cm10.1 nightly.
 
 
13th February 2014, 06:13 AM |#2  
mrjhnn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chania_Crete
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Hey have you tested this proximity sensor app?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=951858


Sent It From Outer Space.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrjhnn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 08:33 AM |#3  
sixline's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wah Cantt
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll definitely try it and report back.
14th February 2014, 09:39 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi,

disassemble the phone and clean up sensor
it work for me
14th February 2014, 12:22 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Visakhapatnam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I face the same problem and the app also always shows far
15th February 2014, 09:43 AM |#6  
sixline's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wah Cantt
Thanks Meter: 155
 
More
Yeah same problem. Its always showing far except 0,0

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
17th February 2014, 02:22 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Dortmund
Thanks Meter: 333
 
More
Smile Easy Way Out!
Possible calibration procedure:

1. Put both values high (will show FAR).
2. Cover sensor with finger.
3. Lower High threshold till it says NEAR.
4. Lower Low threshold by a notch or 2.
5. Test behavior.

Different person will guide you different ways.....that's their way to explain,no offence here.And sometimes different ROM could also requires different calibration,best way to do it is mentioned above.

Example: I'm on AoCP my own custom way made look of 4.2.2 kitkat*
I've OK Google working and Everything as stated in KitKat.But obvious im on 4.2.2 instead of 4.4.2!
In this ROM ive sets Lower @ 13 and Higher @15 but it could be different by user to user.

Thanks.
17th February 2014, 04:06 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Visakhapatnam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
the other sensor test app shows 9.0 cm always
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
proximity sensor
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes