Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner American phone manufacturer … more

Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more
Post Reply

[Q] Proximity sensor problem

OP sixline

13th February 2014, 05:35 AM   |  #1  
sixline's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wah Cantt
Thanks Meter: 150
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Hi there, I think my DHD's proximity sensor is not working, i.e. screen is not turning off during calls resulting in disconnections. I installed Android Sensor Box from play store. Its indicating that proximity sensor is present but always at 9 cm even I covered the top portion of the screen. What do you guys suggest, is it a faulty sensor? I am using latest cm10.1 nightly.
13th February 2014, 06:13 AM   |  #2  
mrjhnn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chania_Crete
Thanks Meter: 17
 
111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Hey have you tested this proximity sensor app?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=951858


Sent It From Outer Space.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrjhnn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 08:33 AM   |  #3  
sixline's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wah Cantt
Thanks Meter: 150
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll definitely try it and report back.
14th February 2014, 09:39 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hi,

disassemble the phone and clean up sensor
it work for me
14th February 2014, 12:22 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Visakhapatnam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I face the same problem and the app also always shows far
15th February 2014, 09:43 AM   |  #6  
sixline's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Wah Cantt
Thanks Meter: 150
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Yeah same problem. Its always showing far except 0,0

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk 2
17th February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Dortmund
Thanks Meter: 238
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Smile Easy Way Out!
Possible calibration procedure:

1. Put both values high (will show FAR).
2. Cover sensor with finger.
3. Lower High threshold till it says NEAR.
4. Lower Low threshold by a notch or 2.
5. Test behavior.

Different person will guide you different ways.....that's their way to explain,no offence here.And sometimes different ROM could also requires different calibration,best way to do it is mentioned above.

Example: I'm on AoCP my own custom way made look of 4.2.2 kitkat*
I've OK Google working and Everything as stated in KitKat.But obvious im on 4.2.2 instead of 4.4.2!
In this ROM ive sets Lower @ 13 and Higher @15 but it could be different by user to user.

Thanks.
17th February 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Visakhapatnam
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
the other sensor test app shows 9.0 cm always

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
proximity sensor
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes