Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Need Help ASAP -- Phone Can't Enter Recovery

OP BlackHayze

17th February 2014, 02:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Hi all,

I was having some issues sideloading a ROM in TWRP 2.6.3.4, but eventually was able to adb push the ROM in (ViperOne 5.0.0). After that, I got an install failed (which is bad in and of itself, as I have no OS installed currently) and told me to try installing TWRP 2.6.3.3, which I did from it's Aroma menu, and now my phone will not enter into recovery at all! I've tried 2.6.3.4, 2.6.3.3, and now just tried 2.6.3.0.

Any help at all would be extremely appreciated, I may have broken my phone here, and am really worried.

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I can get 2.6.3.4 working and running, but anything under 2.6.3.4 will not work anymore, even though I just had 2.6.3.0 working on there.
Last edited by BlackHayze; 17th February 2014 at 02:44 AM.
17th February 2014, 04:15 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 443
 
1,801 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
If you can boot to TWRP, either use adb push or adb sideload
17th February 2014, 08:13 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,024
 
3,727 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
fastboot erase cache
17th February 2014, 12:38 PM   |  #4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,108
 
6,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHayze

EDIT: I can get 2.6.3.4 working and running, but anything under 2.6.3.4 will not work anymore, even though I just had 2.6.3.0 working on there.

Make sure you're using the right recovery for you phone; I didnt know ViperOne had recoveries in installer, but I think ViperOne is compatible with GSM and CDMA phones, if that is true, then 2.6.3.3 and .4 are for GSM and 2.6.3.0 is probably for CDMA (Sprint)

I would also recommend flashing recovery yourself using fastboot:
fastboot flash recovery <name of recovery>.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader


making sure you get the correct TWRP for you phone model.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Make sure you're using the right recovery for you phone; I didnt know ViperOne had recoveries in installer, but I think ViperOne is compatible with GSM and CDMA phones, if that is true, then 2.6.3.3 and .4 are for GSM and 2.6.3.0 is probably for CDMA (Sprint)

I would also recommend flashing recovery yourself using fastboot:
fastboot flash recovery <name of recovery>.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader


making sure you get the correct TWRP for you phone model.

Yeah I had found a 2.6.3.4 for Sprint that I flashed manually before, and that worked fine as far as starting the recovery up and everything. But, it couldn't install ViperOne correctly, and so ViperOne has an option in the Aroma installer to install a recovery, and since I had never found a 2.6.3.3 file to manually flash, but was on 2.6.3.4 I never even thought that it may not be a recovery built for my phone and it messed everything up.

That's the last time I'm gonna let anything install stuff for me, I always prefer the manual way. I suggest the auto flashers and installers to people like my mom who only really wants root for a certain few features, but I'm usually a manual guy.

Luckily, the RUU worked and I was able to get ViperOne installed on 2.6.3.0.... Sad thing is that's the same recovery I was running before this entire fiasco haha. What a night for me.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes