Post Reply

[ROM] SKYNET ROM v1 for SmartQ ZWatch - Based on v3.1

17th February 2014, 10:55 PM   |  #1  
BassBlaster's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 281
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
SKYNET ROM for SmartQ ZWatch

Based on Stock Firmware 3.1


SCREENSHOTS




FEATURES
  • Root and Busybox
  • Fixed the hideous blue background in the digital clockface (introduced in Stock Firmware 3.1) and reverted it to Pre-3.1 style
  • Added useful apps (Dolphin Browser Mini, Google Keep etc)
  • Removed the ugly weather backgrounds from digital clockface
  • Added Google Playstore
  • Edited icons of added apps to match the rest of the 3.1 theme
  • Based on smooth, fast, and sexy Stock 3.1 Firmware
  • Removed chinese bloatware
  • Removed unnecessary audio files
  • Added Flit Keyboard (you can switch to ZSync Keyboard or other keyboards with Quick Keyboard Switch preloaded app)

How to install
  1. Download latest SKYNET ROM
  2. Copy SKYNET ROM zip to root of your SmartQ ZWatch's storage
  3. Rename the zip to update
  4. Navigate to Settings>Scroll Down>About Tablet>Firmware Upgrade
  5. Click OK to install
  6. After reboot complete, choose language then factory reset

DOWNLOAD


Contributors
BassBlaster
ROM OS Version: 4.4.x KitKat KRT16M
ROM Kernel: Linux 3.4.x
Based On: Stock Firmware 3.1

Version Information
Status: Stable
Current Stable Version: v1.0
Stable Release Date: 2014-02-18

Created 2014-02-17
Last Updated 2014-02-17
Last edited by BassBlaster; 18th February 2014 at 09:23 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BassBlaster For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #2  
BassBlaster's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 281
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
To-Do
To-Do list
  • Make the wallpaper same as homescreen wallpaper in the digital clockface, but add a shadow under the clock
  • Fix Dolphin Browser / Replace with another browser
  • Add gradient to some icons to make them fit in with the rest of the theme
  • Backport old pre-3.1 watchwidget.apk (new one in 3.1 has messed up placement of weather info on clockface)
Last edited by BassBlaster; 18th February 2014 at 02:18 PM.
18th February 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassBlaster

To-Do list

  • Make the wallpaper same as homescreen wallpaper in the digital clockface, but add a shadow under the clock
  • Fix Dolphin Browser / Replace with another browser
  • Add gradient to some icons to make them fit in with the rest of the theme

I'm downloading it now. Will definitely be giving this a try. Look forward to your updates and the watch face looks good again,
Thanks for your hard work.
The Following User Says Thank You to Shaggs1983 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 12:59 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
The rom works great! After you do those improvements it will be even better. The watch face seems a little glitchy though, sometimes it shows the weather and some times it doesn't... Anyway I could fix that?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th February 2014, 01:01 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Paris, France
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Thanks for this new ROM 3.1...will definitively give it a try soon

PS:
I've heard rumors saying that, with official FW 3.1, it's no longer possible to install apks "from unknown source" (no more access to this check-box): can u confirm that and/or have a work-around?
(BTW, I'm using Snappea for side-loading apks, so I don't need it, but it could help a few people around...)
18th February 2014, 02:06 PM   |  #6  
BassBlaster's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 281
 
576 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adanteny

Thanks for this new ROM 3.1...will definitively give it a try soon

PS:
I've heard rumors saying that, with official FW 3.1, it's no longer possible to install apks "from unknown source" (no more access to this check-box): can u confirm that and/or have a work-around?
(BTW, I'm using Snappea for side-loading apks, so I don't need it, but it could help a few people around...)

@adanteny Nah bro, it's an incorrect rumor. You can definitely sideload apks just like pre-3.1

@Shaggs1983 Yeah, I experienced the same glitchyness for the weather even in stock 2.5, I guess you could try connecting to WiFi on the ZWatch, then open the Weather app and click the refresh icon. That should hopefully get the weather information onto the clockface manually.
Last edited by BassBlaster; 18th February 2014 at 02:11 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to BassBlaster For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #7  
Member
Flag Paris, France
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Oki doki, thanks for the info
The Following User Says Thank You to adanteny For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Paris, France
Thanks Meter: 3
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaggs1983

... sometimes it shows the weather and some times it doesn't...

This is an old "feature" afaik (v1.6?)
Whenever I need to 'refresh' the Weather Info on the main watchface (for example after a fresh re-charge), I always go the Weather app, wait for update (over Wi-Fi) and then come back to watch. Only way I've found so far...
21st February 2014, 10:00 AM   |  #9  
bosstom's Avatar
Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassBlaster

@adanteny Nah bro, it's an incorrect rumor. You can definitely sideload apks just like pre-3.1

@Shaggs1983 Yeah, I experienced the same glitchyness for the weather even in stock 2.5, I guess you could try connecting to WiFi on the ZWatch, then open the Weather app and click the refresh icon. That should hopefully get the weather information onto the clockface manually.


Hello

Is root working for you guys, because for me none of the 3.1 based firmwares could give root access to applications. I tried this rom as well and no applications could ask for a root access. Everything says there is no permission.
27th February 2014, 08:15 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosstom

Hello

Is root working for you guys, because for me none of the 3.1 based firmwares could give root access to applications. I tried this rom as well and no applications could ask for a root access. Everything says there is no permission.

Also curious about this. Love the rom though, works great so far!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Other SmartWatches by ThreadRank