FORUMS

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more

Cyngn Explained: Who’s Cyanogen, What’s Cyanogen OS?

While Cyanogen, Inc has been the source of many headlines lately, there … more

Verizon Moto X 2014 Receives Root On Kitkat 4.4.4

The Verizon Moto X 2014 has finally received root, albeit only on Kitkat 4.4.4 … more

Android 5.1.1 Released, Google Cell Service – XDA TV

Android Lollipop 5.1.1 has been released. That and much more news is covered … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Downgrade modem with upgraded 4.3 bootloader

10th February 2014, 07:09 PM |#1  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
Donate to Me
More
Is it possible to downgrade to a previous modem (not the bootloader, just the modem!) after having upgraded to the latest i747m MK5 bootloader/modem combo ?
Or is the bootloader/modem combo really tied together?

I feel like my good ol' MF1 modem was doing better than the newer MK5 one...
 
 
12th February 2014, 01:51 PM |#2  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
Donate to Me
More
up!!

anyone?
12th February 2014, 10:05 PM |#3  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,731
 
More
Yes, you can run an older modem on a 4.3 bootloader.
17th February 2014, 10:22 PM |#4  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Yes, you can run an older modem on a 4.3 bootloader.

Apparently, it does run, Wi-Fi works, but no 3g (voice & data).

So, yes it does run, but if your planning on using your phone, it won't work like intended.
17th February 2014, 11:06 PM |#5  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,731
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiKsFiles

Apparently, it does run, Wi-Fi works, but no 3g (voice & data).

So, yes it does run, but if your planning on using your phone, it won't work like intended.

Was the ROM downgraded too or just the modem? I wonder if the modem is tied to a particular ROM version; i.e. stock 4.1.1, 4.1.2 etc.
17th February 2014, 11:25 PM |#6  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Was the ROM downgraded too or just the modem? I wonder if the modem is tied to a particular ROM version; i.e. stock 4.1.1, 4.1.2 etc.

Right, forgot to mention this... ROM was downgraded back to 4.1.2.

For the record, here's what I did:
- Initially running Dandroid v3.9 (Android 4.1.2 MF1)
- Updated bootloader & modem to MK5 (4.3)
- Installed S3Rx 3.0 (4.3)
- Was not satisfied with ROM (even though it is a good ROM, just not for me)
- Re-installed Dandroid v3.9 (4.1.2) and kept MK5 (4.3) bootloader & modem
- Flashed MF1 (4.1.2) modem only
- lost voice and data (phone said no SIM card detected) but wi-fi worked (don't know about bluetooth)
- Flashed MK5 (4.3) and everything came back to normal
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S III Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank