Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Downgrade modem with upgraded 4.3 bootloader

OP HiKsFiles

10th February 2014, 08:09 PM   |  #1  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Is it possible to downgrade to a previous modem (not the bootloader, just the modem!) after having upgraded to the latest i747m MK5 bootloader/modem combo ?
Or is the bootloader/modem combo really tied together?

I feel like my good ol' MF1 modem was doing better than the newer MK5 one...
12th February 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #2  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
up!!

anyone?
12th February 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #3  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 994
 
3,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Yes, you can run an older modem on a 4.3 bootloader.
17th February 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #4  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Yes, you can run an older modem on a 4.3 bootloader.

Apparently, it does run, Wi-Fi works, but no 3g (voice & data).

So, yes it does run, but if your planning on using your phone, it won't work like intended.
18th February 2014, 12:06 AM   |  #5  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 994
 
3,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiKsFiles

Apparently, it does run, Wi-Fi works, but no 3g (voice & data).

So, yes it does run, but if your planning on using your phone, it won't work like intended.

Was the ROM downgraded too or just the modem? I wonder if the modem is tied to a particular ROM version; i.e. stock 4.1.1, 4.1.2 etc.
18th February 2014, 12:25 AM   |  #6  
HiKsFiles's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Québec city
Thanks Meter: 160
 
530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Was the ROM downgraded too or just the modem? I wonder if the modem is tied to a particular ROM version; i.e. stock 4.1.1, 4.1.2 etc.

Right, forgot to mention this... ROM was downgraded back to 4.1.2.

For the record, here's what I did:
- Initially running Dandroid v3.9 (Android 4.1.2 MF1)
- Updated bootloader & modem to MK5 (4.3)
- Installed S3Rx 3.0 (4.3)
- Was not satisfied with ROM (even though it is a good ROM, just not for me)
- Re-installed Dandroid v3.9 (4.1.2) and kept MK5 (4.3) bootloader & modem
- Flashed MF1 (4.1.2) modem only
- lost voice and data (phone said no SIM card detected) but wi-fi worked (don't know about bluetooth)
- Flashed MK5 (4.3) and everything came back to normal
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes