Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,501 Members 40,959 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE][TETHERING] Clockworkmod Tether via USB

Tip us?
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#11  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1266
Posts: 1,452
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellvone View Post
sweet, he's out....my turn

you learn in military service that 4 hours is ask you need per 24, hopefully I'll get 8 tonight

---------- Post added at 08:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:05 PM ----------



hoo rah friend, I've got an extra usb to Ethernet if you want it.

got a multi pack from Amazon for small price, do you have the same issue I did with the software center in ubuntu?
Not yet. Seems good so far.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#12  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1266
Posts: 1,452
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
I'll take it though lol.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Modding.MyMind For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
russellvone
Old
#13  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 794
Posts: 1,609
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Longview

 
DONATE TO ME
you can click 'install' while using clockworkmod tether?

I never could
 
russellvone
Old
#14  
russellvone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 794
Posts: 1,609
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Longview

 
DONATE TO ME
PM me a P.O. box or whatever your comfortable with, I'll send it your way soldier
The Following User Says Thank You to russellvone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#15  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1266
Posts: 1,452
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellvone View Post
you can click 'install' while using clockworkmod tether?

I never could
Probably because I have certain stuff installed. When I first got Ubuntu up and going I was installing all kinds of stuff. Couldn't tell you off the top of my head lol.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Modding.MyMind For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mazak23
Old
(Last edited by mazak23; 17th February 2014 at 11:46 PM.)
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 115
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for a superb guide.
I manage it to work on 2 different machines.

Now I am googling and cannot find how to add shortcut on desktop, so user do not need to run it from terminal.
I have a shorcut on desktop now, but after a while window dissapear and script is not running.

There is *internet.desktop file - which is a shortcut I believe. Inside it is:


[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Terminal=true
StartupNotify=true
Icon[en_GB]=gnome-panel-launcher
Name[en_GB]=internet
Exec=/home/marta/Templates/Tether/linux/run.sh
Comment[en_GB]=Run program as root
Name=internet
Comment=Run program as root
Icon=gnome-panel-launcher
GenericName[en_GB]=tethering from usb

I am on 12.04.

Any advice appreciated.

p.s.
just forgot to add that main user is not geek so I want to be simple as possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to mazak23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Modding.MyMind
Old
#17  
Modding.MyMind's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1266
Posts: 1,452
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Richmond, Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazak23 View Post
Thanks for a superb guide.
I manage it to work on 2 different machines.

Now I am googling and cannot find how to add shortcut on desktop, so user do not need to run it from terminal.
I have a shortcut on desktop now, but after a while window dissapear and script is not running.

There is *internet.desktop file - which is a shortcut I believe. Inside it is:


[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Type=Application
Terminal=true
StartupNotify=true
Icon[en_GB]=gnome-panel-launcher
Name[en_GB]=internet
Exec=/home/marta/Templates/Tether/linux/run.sh
Comment[en_GB]=Run program as root
Name=internet
Comment=Run program as root
Icon=gnome-panel-launcher
GenericName[en_GB]=tethering from usb

I am on 12.04.

Any advice appreciated.
I wish I could help, but I keep my desktop clear in all honesty. I run mostly everything in the terminal. A habit you could say lol. Though, when I get by my computer again I will take a look at what you mentioned. I haven't noticed it personally, but like I said; Using terminal is my preferred method.

Sent from my C525c using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes