Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 44,121 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[q] n5100 vs n5120

Tip us?
 
666power
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default [q] n5100 vs n5120

I just ordered an N5100 to use on ATT b/c I wanted to be able to use the device as a phone. But after looking up the specs I think the 5100 is only 3g.

The 5120 says it has 4g, but I wasnt 100% sure it also did voice.

If I order a 5120 will it still work with voice on ATT?

Thanks
 
Jamie T
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2013
I've used my n5100 as a phone in so singapore , Indonesia, Japan, and Australia.. 3g is fine for a phone.. If you want LTE go for the 5120.. As for using it on ATT I have no idea.. I bought my n5100 in Thailand unlocked no contract and used prepaid sims only

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666power View Post
I just ordered an N5100 to use on ATT b/c I wanted to be able to use the device as a phone. But after looking up the specs I think the 5100 is only 3g.

The 5120 says it has 4g, but I wasnt 100% sure it also did voice.

If I order a 5120 will it still work with voice on ATT?

Thanks
 
666power
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2007
OK after a ton of searching I think I figured it out. On samsung's page they say the 5120 uses LTE Bands 3, 7, and 8. For the data only Note 8 LTE that ATT sells they say it uses bands 2, 4, 5, and 17.

So based on that I'm going to guess it won't work.
 
aben2amu
Old
#4  
aben2amu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 391
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Santiago
The AT&T model has a different model number, the 5120 is an international model.
Moto X XT1058
ROM: Stock 4.4.3

Samsung Note 8.0 GT-N5100
ROM: Stock 4.4.2 rooted

Acer Iconia Tab A500
ROM: FLEXREAPER RELIX 2.0
Android 4.1.2





 
666power
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
The AT&T model has a different model number, the 5120 is an international model.
I know, I figured the ATT model has the proper LTE bands, and if the internation (5120) doesn't have the same bands, it probably wont work in the US
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes