Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Turning off cell radio??

OP {tpc}

11th February 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #1  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Is there any way to do this on this phone? Primarily for battery life issues? I plan on using this phone NOT as a phone lol, but I would still like to use BT and/or wifi without using the cell radio, hopefully saving some battery life.

Or should I just not worry about it and leave it all on? Phone isn't on a active network anymore, but still has all my old phone number info in it, etc.
11th February 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,073
 
3,974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Turning on Airplane Mode doesn't activate this? The RIL is still connected, but it shouldn't be broadcasting anything. Though you can turn wifi on and off while in Airplane Mode, just not the cell radio.
11th February 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #3  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonsAsinorem

Turning on Airplane Mode doesn't activate this? The RIL is still connected, but it shouldn't be broadcasting anything. Though you can turn wifi on and off while in Airplane Mode, just not the cell radio.

Well the issue is mainly with the BT. Once you turn on airplane mode, the BT is inactive. Wifi still functions, but I need BT as well.
12th February 2014, 02:38 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,324
 
8,056 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by {tpc}

Well the issue is mainly with the BT. Once you turn on airplane mode, the BT is inactive. Wifi still functions, but I need BT as well.

You can't turn on BT after turning on airplane mode?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #5  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579

You can't turn on BT after turning on airplane mode?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

No I can't. Maybe I am running too old of a rom? I know its a stock rom. GB I think.
18th February 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #6  
ohbuckeyeman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 157
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I'm not sure if that's a hardware limitation with this chipset or not. I can do exactly what you described in my gs4, but am also unsuccessful on the incredible. Let me know what you figure out.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes