NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Samsung Begins Production of 8 Gb RAM Chips

With the release of Android 5.0, our favorite mobile operating system has become 64-bit ready. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Turning off cell radio??

OP {tpc}

11th February 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #1  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Is there any way to do this on this phone? Primarily for battery life issues? I plan on using this phone NOT as a phone lol, but I would still like to use BT and/or wifi without using the cell radio, hopefully saving some battery life.

Or should I just not worry about it and leave it all on? Phone isn't on a active network anymore, but still has all my old phone number info in it, etc.
11th February 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 2,073
 
3,923 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Turning on Airplane Mode doesn't activate this? The RIL is still connected, but it shouldn't be broadcasting anything. Though you can turn wifi on and off while in Airplane Mode, just not the cell radio.
11th February 2014, 10:59 PM   |  #3  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PonsAsinorem

Turning on Airplane Mode doesn't activate this? The RIL is still connected, but it shouldn't be broadcasting anything. Though you can turn wifi on and off while in Airplane Mode, just not the cell radio.

Well the issue is mainly with the BT. Once you turn on airplane mode, the BT is inactive. Wifi still functions, but I need BT as well.
12th February 2014, 02:38 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,366
 
8,135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by {tpc}

Well the issue is mainly with the BT. Once you turn on airplane mode, the BT is inactive. Wifi still functions, but I need BT as well.

You can't turn on BT after turning on airplane mode?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
14th February 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #5  
{tpc}'s Avatar
OP Member
Flag Shelby Township
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579

You can't turn on BT after turning on airplane mode?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

No I can't. Maybe I am running too old of a rom? I know its a stock rom. GB I think.
18th February 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #6  
ohbuckeyeman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I'm not sure if that's a hardware limitation with this chipset or not. I can do exactly what you described in my gs4, but am also unsuccessful on the incredible. Let me know what you figure out.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes