Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,011 Members 47,703 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help bricked my Droid X2

Tip us?
 
Kyra Longstar
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Help bricked my Droid X2

Ok so here is my sob story. I was trying to flash my Droid X2 down to 2.3.4 so that I could root it and install eclipse. However during the flashing process the battery died! I charged the battery (with an external charger) and tried to reboot the phone but it is stuck on the Motorola screen. I can pull up a menu by holding the up volume button. I have gotten it into the Android recovery mode and cleared the cache and tried to do a factory reset, but that didn't work.

Next I tried to re-flash, but every time I try it fails at the BP pass through. I have even tried it on different computers with the same results (BP pass through)! I have the most recent RSD Lite and the newest Motorola drivers. I have found that I can select the No BP on that first menu and it will boot the phone. Is there anyway to fix the phone so it will boot normally? Or do I now own an expensive paperweight...
 
sd_shadow
Old
(Last edited by sd_shadow; 19th February 2014 at 06:11 AM.)
#2  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,358
Posts: 3,600
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
eclipse 2.3 needs to be installed on 2.3.5, all other roms require 2.3.4
failure at bp pass through is almost always a drivers issue
either try ezSBF 2.3.4, then use 2.3.5 update.zip
or try my driver issues link on my page
sd_shadow's (themib) [Collection] of Links for Droid X2

Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
toucsa
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2014
I am experiencing a similar problem with my DX2 as well where it will only boot with "No BP". I've tried installing different versions of stock sbfs through RSD lite on Windows 7 and Windows XP all giving me the BP pass through FAIL. I tried different RSD lite versions and even different motorola drivers. I then tried the ezSBF method which gives me no errors, but I still get the same "Modem did not power up (3)" error on startup. I tried rooting it even though I had problems and it worked. I figured that I'd try to install a rom to see if that would fix my problem, but I can't get into "System Recovery" when I reboot. Oddly enough I also can't get out of Airplane mode even when I have it turned off. The wifi works, the radio doesn't which is normal in airplane mode. Any suggestions? Thanks.
 
sd_shadow
Old
#4  
sd_shadow's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,358
Posts: 3,600
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Dakota

 
DONATE TO ME
did you verify md5 for sbfs?
using rsd lite 5.7 or newer?
did you check device manager, for errors, right after you get a bp pass through failure?

if yes for all of those, likely a hardware failure, and nothing can be done.
No support via PM! Please ask in a public thread, that's what the forums are for.
Notify me by Posting @sd_shadow in thread I'll help you as much as I can...
Always in motion is the future
 
toucsa
Old
(Last edited by toucsa; 23rd February 2014 at 08:11 AM.) Reason: more info.
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_shadow View Post
did you verify md5 for sbfs?
using rsd lite 5.7 or newer?
did you check device manager, for errors, right after you get a bp pass through failure?

if yes for all of those, likely a hardware failure, and nothing can be done.
I just verified md5 with the 2.3.4 sbf which matched, Froyo didn't match, and 2.3.5 matched. Version 2.3.5 GB is currently on the DX2 because I used "DX2Batchroot_2013.v2.exe".
I tried using rsd lite 5.7 and then 6.1.6.
I get a "QHSUSB_DLOAD" error at 99% completion, then my DX2 flickers and I eventually get a FAIL from "no bp pass through".

Airplane is stuck trying to turn off and rebooting doesn't turn it off; only wiping data/cache turn it off. The cell signal is "x'd out" displaying no bars.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes