FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

[Q] No recovery, no fastboot?

144 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Verfassergeist, Senior Member on 16th February 2014, 04:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So, one of my family members was mucking around on their tablet. I was sure that I has locked down the appropriate areas, but as of right now, I think I'm looking at a hard-brick. I'm not sure what kind of fastboot capabilities I have, turning it off, and on again boots to what looks like fastboot, but I have a Google splash screen. Using the vol up/down/pwr button does boot into fastboot, but I'm not sure what I have at my disposal for flashing. Any suggestions? I've just never seen anything like this before.
Last edited by Verfassergeist; 16th February 2014 at 04:50 PM.
 
 
17th February 2014, 04:52 AM |#2  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,799
 
Donate to Me
More
If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 08:21 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to bsquare For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 04:26 AM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by bsquare

Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.

ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!
18th February 2014, 05:02 AM |#5  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,799
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verfassergeist

ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!

Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5
18th February 2014, 04:27 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5

I....*facepalm*
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes