Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

[Q] No recovery, no fastboot?

16th February 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
So, one of my family members was mucking around on their tablet. I was sure that I has locked down the appropriate areas, but as of right now, I think I'm looking at a hard-brick. I'm not sure what kind of fastboot capabilities I have, turning it off, and on again boots to what looks like fastboot, but I have a Google splash screen. Using the vol up/down/pwr button does boot into fastboot, but I'm not sure what I have at my disposal for flashing. Any suggestions? I've just never seen anything like this before.
Last edited by Verfassergeist; 16th February 2014 at 04:50 PM.
17th February 2014, 04:52 AM   |  #2  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,523
 
10,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to bsquare For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

If you can boot into fastboot, it isn't a hard brick. A brick doesn't turn on.

Just try fastboot flashing the stock image on it from Google.

Sent from my Nexus 5


Quote:
Originally Posted by bsquare

Another alternative would be to boot into recovery, if you can.

I assume you had twrp or cwm? If so, you could reflash the rom you're using. If not, you could install twrp from fastboot and then sideload a rom of your choice.

ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!
18th February 2014, 05:02 AM   |  #5  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,523
 
10,672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Verfassergeist

ADB push wasn't accepting anything. What I ended up doing, was using the Wug toolkit to force-flash a stock image. Still not sure what the hell happened, I'm just happy it works now.

Thanks for your help!

Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5
18th February 2014, 04:27 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Fastboot and adb are not interchangeable.

Adb doesn't work in fastboot mode

Sent from my Nexus 5

I....*facepalm*
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank