Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] No audio from headphone jack or loudspeaker. Only earpiece makes sound

OP the jew hunter

16th January 2014, 09:46 AM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Rooted s-on amaze No audio from loudspeaker or headphone jack. Only earpiece or bluetooth make sound. Phone just went for warranty a month ago and they said they replaced the motherboard. Now I a couple weeks out of warranty and they are telling me tough luck. Lucky me... What could cause this? I have tried several different firmwares, kernels including going back to stock. No change.

Doesn't look like a common issue. I can't find any info on this that helped at all. Please help.
16th January 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 124
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Just going out on a limb here, the phone's already been repaired at least once--I would suspect a bad component.
The Following User Says Thank You to pbergonzi For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #3  
Odysseus1962's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 452
 
552 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbergonzi

Just going out on a limb here, the phone's already been repaired at least once--I would suspect a bad component.

+1
Seems like a logical diagnosis to me too. It could be anything from a bad headphone jack or speaker to a failed board component. The fact that you've had it serviced before for the same issue suggests it wasn't properly repaired the first time. Sorry, but this doesn't sound like a software issue.
17th January 2014, 07:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Thank you for quick reply. Guess its tough s*** for me
17th January 2014, 09:02 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 124
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Symptoms--did it just stop out of nowhere, or did you install something and it stopped? If it just stopped out of nowhere, go fishing around in the phone, see if there's some kinda loose cable or if the earplug assembly is loose or something. Much of troubleshooting is just discovery. Amaze are pretty affordable if you have to replace it--check craigslist or swappa. Maybe your provider will set you up with something, doesn't even have to be Amaze for you to have functionality.
17th January 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I have the very same problem and this is the first thing I've seen about it. No sound from loud speaker or headphone jack. I haven't pinpointed something I installed to make it quit working, I've tried different roms, etc to see if it would work. No luck. The sound even decides to work every couple weeks for a total of maybe a minute and it stops again. If anyone discovers a solution I'm all ears. I have no warranty, I'm on T-Mobile with a no contract plan. Thanks for any help..
18th January 2014, 06:27 AM   |  #7  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
I am waiting on some micro torx bits to do some exploratory diagnosis. I do have an electronics/electrical background but my skills are limited in this case to monkeying with connections and perhaps some basic metering. I will post when I have done so. i have a feeling it is likely a loose/poor connection that has caused this since it has only just come back from repair and the motherboard was supposedly replaced. However, wether or not the put a NEW board in is an unknown.

In terms sysptoms and there was no audio distortion or any signs of any thing wrong at all before. This was sudden and without warning. It was not in the middle of use of the head p. jack or the loud speaker either. I had not installed any apps for at least a few days before this happened so I am inclined to not believe it is software related.

So far I am stumped we will see what happens when I do a little surgery. If the patient dies I will go by a S3...People still want 120 bucks here for their amazes.Thanks all for input.
18th January 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 124
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
To @the jew hunterhunter--your troubleshooting skills are similar to mine--poke around--and then some. Poking is especially is especially handy when the problems are physical.
Clever "replaced but don't know if it was new."
Good luck in your investigation.
I know the headphone jack itself can be problematic, something in the design that can allow just a tiny displacement of the plug to result in disconnection, don't know if purchasable replacements are better or not, however that is probably completely unrelated to your sound issues. Yet..., I would look at that component first.
I am glad you will post results.
To @marshallrounds, you can see from this thread that it is probably hardware, as no one else has found or mentioned any software-caused issues or fixes.
19th February 2014, 01:58 AM   |  #9  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
no workie
So i tried to goof with it but there was nothing I could do with my limited poking and hoping skills. Must be a bad component or some microcode glitch. Out of my hands so I bought a used nexus 4 for 190$ MUCH HAPPIER NOW nexus 4 makes the amaze look like a bad joke. Thanks to amaze ppl out there for everything tho!
19th February 2014, 05:18 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag San Pedro
Thanks Meter: 124
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the jew hunter

So i tried to goof with it but there was nothing I could do with my limited poking and hoping skills. Must be a bad component or some microcode glitch. Out of my hands so I bought a used nexus 4 for 190$ MUCH HAPPIER NOW nexus 4 makes the amaze look like a bad joke. Thanks to amaze ppl out there for everything tho!

There ya go.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes