Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,457 Members 51,446 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] VIRGIN android user! hi guys!

Tip us?
 
dubmang
Old
(Last edited by dubmang; 16th February 2014 at 06:41 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] VIRGIN android user! hi guys!

I didnt see a thread for welcomes..

Hi! i just picked up a sprint lg g2 on a free upgrade but i do not plan on activating it yet since 4g is not currently in my area, so for now i want to use this and just a fun phone for around the house. so i have a few questions after checking out some of the stickys and i dont want to start multiple threads for single questions. if this gets moved to a different area then i understand why as well. also if my typing seems sporadic its because i am coming from a htc tp2 and this is my devirgin process on using androids and rooting. so welcome to my party of self discovery!

1)since i am not activating it can i still pull all the necessary updates for the phone itself off the wifi?
2)in this sticky http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2479892 i saw no mention of a sprint code. i dont know if i should root it yet because i am currently using a htc touchpro2 im sure the stock speed is going to blow my mind but should i still do that ^^^^ mentioned above?
3)when i got the phone the lady really tried to push the S4 on me saying that the g2 will be stuck on jellybean for 2years? does rooting fix that?
4)when i do decide to activate it, is hotspot easily achieved by an app or is their some kind of rooting that needs to be done? (i already have unlimited data plan)
5)the BB csr also mentioned titanium backup app. and i checked it out and i dont understand how it works. thts for the bloatware stuff right?
6)is it possible to get that flappybird game still? i want to play it see what the fuss is about like on youtube.
i would rather not root my phone if it will stay fast but i dont want all that clutter apps either if its like a new desktop computer that comes with free aol 3.0 and etc.
 
x714x
Old
#2  
x714x's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 266
Posts: 936
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Phoenix
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubmang View Post
I didnt see a thread for welcomes..

Hi! i just picked up a sprint lg g2 on a free upgrade but i do not plan on activating it yet since 4g is not currently in my area, so for now i want to use this and just a fun phone for around the house. so i have a few questions after checking out some of the stickys and i dont want to start multiple threads for single questions. if this gets moved to a different area then i understand why as well. also if my typing seems sporadic its because i am coming from a htc tp2 and this is my devirgin process on using androids and rooting. so welcome to my party of self discovery!

1)since i am not activating it can i still pull all the necessary updates for the phone itself off the wifi?
2)in this sticky http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2479892 i saw no mention of a sprint code. i dont know if i should root it yet because i am currently using a htc touchpro2 im sure the stock speed is going to blow my mind but should i still do that ^^^^ mentioned above?
3)when i got the phone the lady really tried to push the S4 on me saying that the g2 will be stuck on jellybean for 2years? does rooting fix that?
4)when i do decide to activate it, is hotspot easily achieved by an app or is their some kind of rooting that needs to be done? (i already have unlimited data plan)
5)the BB csr also mentioned titanium backup app. and i checked it out and i dont understand how it works. thts for the bloatware stuff right?

i would rather not root my phone if it will stay fast but i dont want all that clutter apps either if its like a new desktop computer that comes with free aol 3.0 and etc.
1) yup
2) I personally dont adjust that simply cause the phone then feels to hot for my liking even though its safe. You can do it and if you dont notice a difference or its to hot for you, just change it back. I think the code for sprint and verizon version is 980? so... 3845#*980#
3)You can root and flash aosp (android open source project) to your phone but you may find that you like the stock software. Also kitkat will be out for our phone shortly
4) You can use a program called foxfi that you can use that will turn your phone into a hotspot and sprint wont be the wiser so you dont have to pay for tethering. Also you dont need root for foxfi.

Just play around with the stock setup and see if you like it, you may not even find the need to root. Also if you enable developer options by going to settings<about phone<software information, and click the "build number" like 6 times (the developer options menu will then be in settings<developer options), you can adjust the window animation/transition animation/animator duration to 0.5 or off to speed up the phones interface.
T-Mobile LG G2 | T-Mobile HTC One M8
 
dubmang
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
thanks for the fast replies!

i am trying to update prl/profile/firmware/software etc and it gives me an error. my wifi is connected and i turned off airplane mode for the updates. (i should keep airplane mode on correct so that it doesnt try to activate?)
 
souleman
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 150
Posts: 356
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montrose, MI
The dialer code for sprint is 5689#*980#

The prl/profile will only update on an active phone. You have to do it manually if the phone isn't active. That said, you don't need to do it if the phone isn't active, because they are settings sent by Sprint to your phone to let it know about active cell towers and things like that.

Check the Sprint part of these forums. Most of the stuff you asked is in there in one place for another.

Side note, so you don't wonder what is going on. In the title of threads, you will see things like [kernel][rom] etc etc.. things between brackets.. The things that say [INT] stand for International. They are ports made to make the Sprint LG G2 work on GSM networks. If you install one of those rom's the phone will NOT work on Sprint. Right now, that would be no big deal for you, since the phone isn't active. But if/when you activate the phone, you can not use one of those roms and still use the phone as a phone.
 
dubmang
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
should i still update my phone via the LG drivrs at least? also that dialer code does nothing with my phone. it doesnt activate the special menu. so far i havent found it but is their a list of must have apps or a list of minimal steps to get rid of the bloat without rooting? when i am in the settings>>apps menu their is a list of different google' labeled items, are all of those necessary? also someone mentioned foxfi, its only a paid app correct?
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes