Post Reply

Am i running KitKat?

OP Yourmum90

19th February 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #1  
Yourmum90's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Hi All,

I have a couple of questions around the KitKat roms in general. Main thing is how do i know i have KitKat and not an old version like JellyBean?

The reason i ask is that on the HTC website (http://www.android.com/versions/kit-kat-4-4/) KitkKat should have the features lists although looks nothing like that. I don't see a different phone app, i can't seem to get the full screen album art working. The main reason for updaing was to see those features but mine still looks like it always has done.

I have tried the ViperOne 5.0.0 and the Revolution Rom but all of the features above don't seem to be on my phone.

Rich
19th February 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #2  
monkeypaws's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 473
 
1,765 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Those features are specific to the nexus 5. You can get the Google now launcher by looking in the themes and app section of the htc forum. The icons are also specific to the nexus 5. Not sure 100% but n4 also got those icons. Album art and certain tiny things were also exclusive to nexus 5 or stock Roms. Have you tried any gpe 4.4.2 Roms? I was on the htc one but moved on to the nexus 5.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
19th February 2014, 05:21 PM   |  #3  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,006
 
6,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yourmum90

Hi All,

I have a couple of questions around the KitKat roms in general. Main thing is how do i know i have KitKat and not an old version like JellyBean?

The reason i ask is that on the HTC website (http://www.android.com/versions/kit-kat-4-4/) KitkKat should have the features lists although looks nothing like that. I don't see a different phone app, i can't seem to get the full screen album art working. The main reason for updaing was to see those features but mine still looks like it always has done.

I have tried the ViperOne 5.0.0 and the Revolution Rom but all of the features above don't seem to be on my phone.

Rich

Anything wrong with this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2652969
Easy on the double posting mate


and to answer you, you're looking at Google Edition features, ViperOne 5.0 and ARHD 51.0 are HTC Sense based.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #4  
Yourmum90's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

Anything wrong with this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2652969
Easy on the double posting mate


and to answer you, you're looking at Google Edition features, ViperOne 5.0 and ARHD 51.0 are HTC Sense based.

Thats a fair enough point, i deleted my original reply to that post as this was leading in a different direction. Thanks for the info though.
19th February 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,006
 
6,063 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yourmum90

Thats a fair enough point, i deleted my original reply to that post as this was leading in a different direction. Thanks for the info though.

If you are S-OFF !! (I think most GPE ROMs need S-Off)

You can take a look at @ClydeB1's index thread for GPE ROMs, including an ARHD version of close-to-stock GPE version.

Since I haven't tried them, I can't say if they have what you're looking for, so you'll need to check them out.
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes