5,600,725 Members 37,915 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Rooting/Unlocking Verizon HTC One on Kitkat

Tip us?
 
alexcushing
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Rooting/Unlocking Verizon HTC One on Kitkat

I have a Verizon HTC ONE with android version 4.4.2 KitKat that is not rooted or unlocked. I know that Verizon blocks the regular form of unlocking it through the htcdev site so I wanted to know if there was an alternative way?
Can I install Android JellyBean instead of KitKat and use RumRunner?
Is this not possible unless the phone is unlocked and rooted?

Thanks!
 
selayan
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 375
Join Date: Jun 2011
You have to wait until an exploit is found if your bootloader is locked.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
 
alexcushing
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by selayan View Post
You have to wait until an exploit is found if your bootloader is locked
Ok thanks! Any idea how long it could take for an exploit to be found?
 
bschram
Old
#4  
bschram's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 296
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Minneapolis, MN

 
DONATE TO ME
Try this. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49953186

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
If I've helped, please hit Thanks!

Devices:
HTC One - ViperOne 6.0.0
 
Motorola Droid Razr - Cyanogenmod - Sold
iPhone 5 - 1 DAY ONLY Sold to fund HTC One
Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD - CarbonRom -- Traded for iPhone 5
Samsung Galaxy S III - SlimBean - Sold
Motorola Droid Razr HD - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S III - Sold
Motorola Droid Razr Maxx - Cyanogenmod - Sold

HTC Droid Incredible

Future Device:
HTC M8 - Team Venom ROM
 
alexcushing
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bschram View Post
Try this. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=49953186

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
Thanks! I'm new to this so I have a question about that.
It says make sure you have a working adb and use it. Is this a form of terminal on my pc or something and where could I download this? Thanks

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using xda app-developers app
 
selayan
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 375
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm not sure you can use that if you are locked and complete stock. Google how to set up adb for your os. Or search some threads in the main sections. There are lots of guides.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
 
alexcushing
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by selayan View Post
I'm not sure you can use that if you are locked and complete stock. Google how to set up adb for your os. Or search some threads in the main sections. There are lots of guides.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
Ok ill give it a shot thanks!
 
alexcushing
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by selayan View Post
I'm not sure you can use that if you are locked and complete stock. Google how to set up adb for your os. Or search some threads in the main sections. There are lots of guides.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
You're right it won't work. I guess I will wait for someone to exploit kit Kat for verozon

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using xda app-developers app
 
nikalsaki
Old
#9  
nikalsaki's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Des Moines, IA
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexcushing View Post
Thanks! I'm new to this so I have a question about that.
It says make sure you have a working adb and use it. Is this a form of terminal on my pc or something and where could I download this? Thanks

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using xda app-developers app
As I am a relatively new user to XDA (I'm not new, just new to posting) and it won't let me post links until after like 10 links or so, all slashes / will be replaced with asterisks * to make the forums think I'm not posting a link.

The ADB is the Android Debug Bridge. It comes built in to the Android SDK (Software Developer Kit). I'm not sure if it works standalone.

Anyway, this is what you do:

1. Download the SDK from here: http:**developer.android.com*sdk*index.html. It's 480 mb. By my home's Internet speed, that is a ginormous file. So if your Internet speed is anything like mine, allow about 30 minutes for download. And make sure your computer has the power to unzip a 480 mb ZIP file. This also installs Eclipse, which is basically a program you use to write Android apps. (If you think you may develop apps but you want an alternative to Eclipse, try the Android Developer Studio here: http:**developer.android.com*sdk*installing*studio .html)
2. Once it's installed and everything, navigate to: <sdk install directory>\sdk\platform-tools. Go to the address bar. Click in it, hit Ctrl+A to select all, Ctrl+C to copy, and Ctrl+V to paste it somewhere. I recommend a Notepad document or something. Then navigate to Computer. Click on System Properties and then Advanced system settings. At the bottom of the Advanced tab, click Environment Variables... Find the "path" variable. Paste the sdk\platform-tools link AT THE END OF THE VARIABLE. Make sure that you put a semicolon at the end of it. Click Okay and whatnot.
3. Open command prompt.
4. Type "cd <sdk install directory>\sdk\platform-tools"
5. The ADB should now work. Type "adb" before running any commands. List: http:**developer.android.com*tools*help*adb.html

Sorry if someone already said something about this. I started typing it before I went to lunch and I am finishing and posting this coming back from lunch.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more