Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HTC One S Signal Fix?

OP Phenomin

8th February 2014, 05:02 AM   |  #1  
Phenomin's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I have an unlocked HTC One S that has major signal issues. When the phone boots, there's no service for a few minutes before it decides to actually kick in. WiFi and everything seemed to not work but after putting it into "Best Wi-Fi Performance" mode it seems have resolved. But the cellular signal drops constantly. I've read that this is quite the common issue with these phones and am wondering how they are so popular if this is the case. Regardless, has anyone discovered the reason for the issue or some sort of jimmy rig to fix this issue?
8th February 2014, 07:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
107 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phenomin

I have an unlocked HTC One S that has major signal issues. When the phone boots, there's no service for a few minutes before it decides to actually kick in. WiFi and everything seemed to not work but after putting it into "Best Wi-Fi Performance" mode it seems have resolved. But the cellular signal drops constantly. I've read that this is quite the common issue with these phones and am wondering how they are so popular if this is the case. Regardless, has anyone discovered the reason for the issue or some sort of jimmy rig to fix this issue?

please mention your hboot , radio , Rom.
14th February 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I'm having a similar problem. Occasionally I get a signal strength of 2 billion dBm. (255 asu)

What seems to be alleviating a lot of it is a set of mods to build.prop.

ro.ril.fast.dormance.rule=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=1
ro.ril.hsupa.category=1
ro.ril.hsxpa=2

These settings are the absolute slowest possible, but they do seem to be improving the connection quality.
15th February 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Same problem to me. I have a new S4 from 2 days, bought "refurbished" from aliexpress at a good price. It's new, looks great but signal and in call audio quality is weak.
Phone works good on "GSM only". If i set GSM/WCDMA, I lose signal and phone stops itself.
I started with stock 4.0.3, phone stops itself.
Updated to 4.0.4, phone doesn't stop but no signal with WCDMA enabled.
Then I unkocked, rooted and tried Miui V5 (4.1), same problems.
After installing Maximus HD, I had signal also with GSM/WCDMA, but immediately I installed newer firmware and signal was lost. (Works only on "GSM only").
Tried also Beanstalk, CM11, MagioRom, SourcE, Slim kat. No signal with GSM/WCDMA.

I don't know if works with Maximus with older firmware, or it was only a coincidence. Don't know what firmware was at that moment.
19th February 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Went to a bigger city and 3g worked excellent.
Returned back to home, no signal with 3g enabled.
I guess my phone is weak at signal.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes