Post Reply

[Q] How to unroot a L720 running MK2 4.3 Stock(ish) and the PhilZ Touch ver 6?

20th February 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
I have a L720 running the MK2 4.3 Stock(ish) and the PhilZ Touch ver 6. I want to remove all of these and reinstall the stock MK2 in advance of the new kitkat release. How do I remove all of these before reloading the stock MK2?
Last edited by jtash01; 20th February 2014 at 02:03 AM.
20th February 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #2  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Memphis, TN
Thanks Meter: 588
 
1,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtash@kumc.edu

I have a L720 running the MK2 4.3 Stock(ish) and the PhilZ Touch ver 6. I want to remove all of these and reinstall the stock MK2 in advance of the new kitkat release. How do I remove all of these before reloading the stock MK2?

Flash the stock MK2 file found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2601443 and your phone will be back to stock unrooted and ready for the OTA. Your data will still be in tact.
20th February 2014, 05:29 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag DFW Area, TX
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I'm hoping this is the right thread.

I'm fairly new to the S4 coming from an S2. I did root MK2 using SafeRoot method. I should not have tripped Knox or anything like that. I unrooted with SuperSU unroot option. Everything looks OK except the Device Status shows Custom. I haven't gotten the OTA yet, but when it comes in, is it safe to try, or am I going to have problems?

Thanks,
Dennis_H
20th February 2014, 08:42 PM   |  #4  
cruise350's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Memphis, TN
Thanks Meter: 588
 
1,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis_H2

I'm hoping this is the right thread.

I'm fairly new to the S4 coming from an S2. I did root MK2 using SafeRoot method. I should not have tripped Knox or anything like that. I unrooted with SuperSU unroot option. Everything looks OK except the Device Status shows Custom. I haven't gotten the OTA yet, but when it comes in, is it safe to try, or am I going to have problems?

Thanks,
Dennis_H

It all depends if you modded or disabled anything in the system partition. Including the hotspot mod. If you have, the ota will fail and you need to Odin the stock mk2 tar.


Sent from my icrap 2 using Tapatalk HD
20th February 2014, 08:59 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag DFW Area, TX
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cruise350

It all depends if you modded or disabled anything in the system partition. Including the hotspot mod. If you have, the ota will fail and you need to Odin the stock mk2 tar.


Sent from my icrap 2 using Tapatalk HD

As far as I know, nothing in the system partition got changed with saferoot, and I never got around to installing any new recoveries or adding the hotspot mod. The hotspot mod was the real reason i rooted, but got a little concerned/confused after reading about it.If the custom in device status doesn't cause issues, I'll wait to get the OTA and then start reading about the HS mod again to see how to implement in 4.4.2 without tripping knox if possible.

Thanks for the info.
Dennis_H
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes