Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,276 Members 38,791 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] RUU Back To Stock Fail

Tip us?
 
sideshow9090
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] RUU Back To Stock Fail

Hi All,

Sometime ago I was able to install android 4.3 using the moonshine method. After sometime, I decided to go back to stock. I followed a tutorial on how to get back to stock RUU.

-Entered Boot loader, typed in cmd prompt "fastboot oem lock" received the word that lock was successful.
-Proceeded to run the RUU executable file 1.15 but received the "158 error"

Now my phone has been wiped of any OS since I relocked the phone, but it still says "moonshine s-off".

I tried to use TWRP recovery adb sideload the proper hboot file to match the RUU but get this message

Failed

Updating partition details...
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
E:TWFunc::Copy_Log -- Can't open destination lo
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
Starting ADB sideload feature...
Installing '/data/media/0/sideload.zip
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found.
WRONG OPERATION!
E:Error executing updater binary in zip'data/

I am at a complete loss as what to do now. I've been at this for 3 hours now and its driving me crazy. PLEASE HELP!
 
sideshow9090
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Can anyone walk me through the steps of pushing the hboot zip via adb sideload?

Will adb sideload not work if my fastboot is locked?
 
sideshow9090
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
I tried to follow this tutorial to go back to stock because I S-OFF'd moonshine

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2293919


My issue is trying to copy the lock bootloader zip file to my phone. Adb sideload is not working, there is no OS since I did the "fastboot oem lock" wiped my phone.

I tried to do a restore in TRWP but after it finished, when starting its stuck on the CM splash screen.


Please help.......................
 
thayl0
Old
#4  
thayl0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 851
Join Date: May 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow9090 View Post
I tried to follow this tutorial to go back to stock because I S-OFF'd moonshine

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2293919


My issue is trying to copy the lock bootloader zip file to my phone. Adb sideload is not working, there is no OS since I did the "fastboot oem lock" wiped my phone.

I tried to do a restore in TRWP but after it finished, when starting its stuck on the CM splash screen.


Please help.......................
There use to be a command you could enter to lock it. I would message phaded and ask him for the command sense the zip isn't working.
 
.torrented
Old
(Last edited by .torrented; 20th February 2014 at 10:26 PM.)
#5  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,473
Posts: 2,785
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suffolk, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow9090 View Post
Hi All,

Sometime ago I was able to install android 4.3 using the moonshine method. After sometime, I decided to go back to stock. I followed a tutorial on how to get back to stock RUU.

-Entered Boot loader, typed in cmd prompt "fastboot oem lock" received the word that lock was successful.
-Proceeded to run the RUU executable file 1.15 but received the "158 error"

Now my phone has been wiped of any OS since I relocked the phone, but it still says "moonshine s-off".

I tried to use TWRP recovery adb sideload the proper hboot file to match the RUU but get this message

Failed

Updating partition details...
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
E:TWFunc::Copy_Log -- Can't open destination lo
E:Unable to mount '/cache'
Starting ADB sideload feature...
Installing '/data/media/0/sideload.zip
Checking for MD5 file...
Skipping MD5 check: no MD5 file found.
WRONG OPERATION!
E:Error executing updater binary in zip'data/

I am at a complete loss as what to do now. I've been at this for 3 hours now and its driving me crazy. PLEASE HELP!
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B32...it?usp=sharing
MD5: 03C6174C4C5331E84520AD7C32EB2837

download that, and then boot into fastboot usb mode, and

fastboot oem rebootRUU

fastboot flash zip SENSE_5_RUU_ROM.zip

it is essentially an RUU but in zip form

WILL WIPE DEVICE (INCLUDING SDCARD)

if this doesnt work, do an @"my xda handle" and ill come back to this

also the only way to flash firmware is through fastboot, made that clear in my instructions, if you got the download from my thread, if you didnt well... now you know lol
 
sideshow9090
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
@.torrented

This is what I did in command prompt and my result

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>fastboot oem rebootRUU
...
(bootloader) Start Verify: 0
OKAY [ 0.054s]
finished. total time: 0.054s

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>fastboot flash zip SENSE_5_RUU_ROM.zip
sending 'zip' (920285 KB)...
OKAY [ 34.998s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) rom parsing start ...
(bootloader) rom parsing finish ...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
FAILED (remote: 22 loading zip info fail)
finished. total time: 41.151s

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>

The phone ends up being in the black HTC screen. Am I supposed to do something after this?
 
sideshow9090
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow9090 View Post
@.torrented

This is what I did in command prompt and my result

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>fastboot oem rebootRUU
...
(bootloader) Start Verify: 0
OKAY [ 0.054s]
finished. total time: 0.054s

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>fastboot flash zip SENSE_5_RUU_ROM.zip
sending 'zip' (920285 KB)...
OKAY [ 34.998s]
writing 'zip'...
(bootloader) rom parsing start ...
(bootloader) rom parsing finish ...
(bootloader) zip header checking...
(bootloader) zip info parsing...
FAILED (remote: 22 loading zip info fail)
finished. total time: 41.151s

C:\Android\sdk\platform-tools>

The phone ends up being in the black HTC screen. Am I supposed to do something after this?
Also this is what my fastboot screen looks like

moonshine S-OFF

MONARUDO PVT SHIP S-OFF
CID-VZW_001
HBOOT-1.33.4444
RADIO-1.01.04.0308
OpenDSP-v6.120.274.0114
eMMC-boot
Jan 15 2013, 19:37:51:-1

FASTBOOT USB

But when I type in adb devices its just says "List of Devices Attached"
 
mopartonyg
Old
#8  
mopartonyg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 152
Posts: 660
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: L.A. Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideshow9090 View Post
Also this is what my fastboot screen looks like

moonshine S-OFF

MONARUDO PVT SHIP S-OFF
CID-VZW_001
HBOOT-1.33.4444
RADIO-1.01.04.0308
OpenDSP-v6.120.274.0114
eMMC-boot
Jan 15 2013, 19:37:51:-1

FASTBOOT USB

But when I type in adb devices its just says "List of Devices Attached"
I am not a dev but it looks like your bootloader is locked. your cid should be all 11111 or all 222222
The Following User Says Thank You to mopartonyg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
.torrented
Old
(Last edited by .torrented; 21st February 2014 at 03:04 AM.)
#9  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,473
Posts: 2,785
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suffolk, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
I goofed up, You will need to go to the bottom of my COLLECTION thread and follow the instructions posted at the bottom under the RUU LINKS section

not the .exe files

[Collection] HTC Droid DNA Firmware [RADIO][HBOOT][RUU]
The Following User Says Thank You to .torrented For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sideshow9090
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
@.torrent

YOU ARE THE MAN! Donation coming your way....THANKS AGAIN!

The Following User Says Thank You to sideshow9090 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes