5,598,171 Members 43,457 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HELP! Galaxy S3 freezing and erasing stuff!

Tip us?
 
mikeman45
Old
#11  
mikeman45's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 2055
Posts: 1,400
Join Date: Oct 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by icytux View Post
@mikeman45
Look, I'm sorry for sounding like an ass and insulting you if I did, I really didn't mean to come by that way but I did know to format , Data, System, Cache, Dalvik Cache three times or more before installing a new ROM or before flashing with ODIN, I've used different USB cables, re-downloaded files, ports and even different computers, the one thing I did not know from everything everyone here has said was fixing permissions, I'll try that, thanks.

It's OK I understand your frustration. I am a mechanic /electrician and work on half a million to 1 million dollar equipment everyday and when there is a problem I start off with the simple stuff and just keep eliminating things until I find the problem. That's all I was trying to do with my advice to you. Now since we know you went through all that simple stuff I would do like Vectus said and wipe your internal as well. Save the important stuff obviously so you can transfer it back to phone from your computer. I would also backup your sd card and reformat it. Then download the rom you want and make sure you have the matching firmware /modem /kernel ect .... That you will need. That would be my next step if I was you and if it all works good put the Stuff that you want /need back a few at a time so if it happens again it will be easier to pin point if you have a corrupted file somewhere. Keep us updated as we will try our best to continue to help.

Sent from my Wicked GS3
The Following User Says Thank You to mikeman45 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
icytux
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeman45 View Post
It's OK I understand your frustration. I am a mechanic /electrician and work on half a million to 1 million dollar equipment everyday and when there is a problem I start off with the simple stuff and just keep eliminating things until I find the problem. That's all I was trying to do with my advice to you. Now since we know you went through all that simple stuff I would do like Vectus said and wipe your internal as well. Save the important stuff obviously so you can transfer it back to phone from your computer. I would also backup your sd card and reformat it. Then download the rom you want and make sure you have the matching firmware /modem /kernel ect .... That you will need. That would be my next step if I was you and if it all works good put the Stuff that you want /need back a few at a time so if it happens again it will be easier to pin point if you have a corrupted file somewhere. Keep us updated as we will try our best to continue to help.

Sent from my Wicked GS3

Thank you, I will be doing this tonight, I'll update the status in a day or two to see if it worked or not.
The Following User Says Thank You to icytux For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mikeman45
Old
#13  
mikeman45's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 2055
Posts: 1,400
Join Date: Oct 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by icytux View Post
Thank you, I will be doing this tonight, I'll update the status in a day or two to see if it worked or not.
Any good news?

Sent from my Wicked GS3
 
icytux
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Hey, sorry for the long wait, my ISP thought it would be funny to cease my internet connection even though I paid this month, anyway.

Sadly no luck, the phone continues to do random reboots, shut downs and such, thankfully contacts, text messages or apps haven't been deleted, so I guess that' one problem fixed.
 
icytux
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
bump
 
icytux
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by icytux View Post
bump
bump
 
prboy1969
Old
#17  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6204
Posts: 9,809
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
I know this is a long shot. But back in the day I had an OG EVO 4G with a bad factory battery. The battery was causing an intermittent short ( it was a manufacturing defect in the battery) . Thereby causing the voltage to fluctuate wildly, causing reboots. So with that in mind. Have you tried a different battery ? Just trying to eliminate possibilities.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes