Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to get any wallpaper work with transparent onscreen and notification bar, NO root

OP jimakos29

22nd February 2014, 04:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kilkis
Thanks Meter: 130
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Ok i have found a way to make any wallpaper appear with transparent notification and onscreen keys just like stock wallpapers, on stock launcher. It is so easy and i just haven't seen it reported anywhere so I thought I should mention it. All u need to do basically is to zoom in just a little bit on the wallpaper when selecting it. I mean crop it just a little bit. You will see it works like a charm
Updated instructions: long tap on homescreen. Go to wallpapers. Select ANY picture u want. Comp!ete action using "Crop picture". Tap on the upper blue arrow and drag it down just a little bit( really just a timy bit is enough). Select crop. U are done. Enjoy
Last edited by jimakos29; 22nd February 2014 at 07:03 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jimakos29 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimakos29

Ok i have found a way to make any wallpaper appear with transparent notification and onscreen keys just like stock wallpapers, on stock launcher. It is so easy and i just haven't seen it reported anywhere so I thought I should mention it. All u need to do basically is to zoom in just a little bit on the wallpaper when selecting it. I mean crop it just a little bit. You will see it works like a charm

im trying to do it but i cant... Can you explain it a bit more? Maybe some screenshots will help.
22nd February 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #3  
chaki-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Banana Paradise
Thanks Meter: 85
 
662 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Doesn't work....
22nd February 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kilkis
Thanks Meter: 130
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox_Soul

im trying to do it but i cant... Can you explain it a bit more? Maybe some screenshots will help.

Screenshots incoming, sorr for zip format but size was too big for jpeg and i had no time to upload them to another site and then post urls. It works like charm the photo i set is one i took with my camera but works on any pic or wallpaper
Attached Files
File Type: zip screenshots.zip - [Click for QR Code] (7.29 MB, 17 views)
22nd February 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kilkis
Thanks Meter: 130
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
You can crop it even less than i did but i cropped so much so that it shows on screenshot
22nd February 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
that "semi transparent" notification bar is usual. The really transparent notificaton bar is when you dont see any edge of it. So, sorry but its nothing new.
22nd February 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kilkis
Thanks Meter: 130
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox_Soul

that "semi transparent" notification bar is usual. The really transparent notificaton bar is when you dont see any edge of it. So, sorry but its nothing new.

Then quick question. If i dont do the above, i get black bar and black (non transparent) buttons on my homescreen unless i select a stock wallpape?that means there is something wrong with my device? Please advise... Only thing i get that semitransparent effect with other pics is when i do the above. Is there something wrong?
22nd February 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimakos29

Then quick question. If i dont do the above, i get black bar and black (non transparent) buttons on my homescreen unless i select a stock wallpape?that means there is something wrong with my device? Please advise... Only thing i get that semitransparent effect with other pics is when i do the above. Is there something wrong?

Maybe... I tried a camera pic and it show me a semi transparent bar. So, maybe you have something wrong.
22nd February 2014, 07:14 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Kilkis
Thanks Meter: 130
 
449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox_Soul

Maybe... I tried a camera pic and it show me a semi transparent bar. So, maybe you have something wrong.

Ok will try reflashing stock and see if it is solved. Also can a moderator close this thread?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes