Post Reply

Rendering Meshes, how many triangles are too many?

OP dgGameDev

22nd February 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi,
I am experimenting with Mesh that I am filling in with colors.

I end up with 900 triangles that are have positions updated about 20 times per second.
On PC it works flawlessly, on my Nexus 4 its rather slow.

Is my code crap, or its too much to render real time?

Thanks!
22nd February 2014, 06:34 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Are your calculate the new position with the delta time (time between this and the last frame)?
23rd February 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmptinessFiller

Are your calculate the new position with the delta time (time between this and the last frame)?

Hi ,yes I use delta time, and the actual new positions are calculated fine for my triangles.
e.g if I put it as wire frames (outlines only) it renders quick enough.
But if I make them filled with color, all halts to grid

I thought 1st person shooter games do way heavier calcs, and seem to survive fine...
Mine item is more like a water simulation, and to look decent it needs about 800 triangles filled at least with solid
color no transparency... any hints please?
Last edited by dgGameDev; 23rd February 2014 at 02:01 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Java for Android App Development by ThreadRank