Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more

Track the Time You Waste on Social Media with Socials Addict

When you use your phone, you often don’t even realize how much time you … more

Document the Story of Your Social Life with 8tory

The different forms of social media are growing every day. It’s hard to imagine a day … more

Make Calling Your Loved Ones Easier and Cheaper this Diwali

Diwali, or Deepawali as some Indians call it, is the pride and joy of Indian … more
Post Reply

Unable to unlock the bootloader on 4.3

OP super0dd

21st February 2014, 09:56 AM   |  #1  
super0dd's Avatar
OP Member
Gotham
Thanks Meter: 10
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
CN 10.26.1.18



unknown error occurred , which may be a network error please try later

This annoying sh1t occurs when I try to unlock the device with the official unlock tool for 4.2.

Actually what I want is just to root it, but currently it's no way out but unlock it to flash in the root.

How am I supposed to deal with it? I can't bear using an unrooted device.

Thanks for any help. Though I know most of your solutions won't work.
22nd February 2014, 11:59 AM   |  #2  
YayYouFixedIt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by super0dd

CN 10.26.1.18



unknown error occurred , which may be a network error please try later

This annoying sh1t occurs when I try to unlock the device with the official unlock tool for 4.2.

Actually what I want is just to root it, but currently it's no way out but unlock it to flash in the root.

How am I supposed to deal with it? I can't bear using an unrooted device.

Thanks for any help. Though I know most of your solutions won't work.

Don't you need to update to 4.3 first? Careful. I'm pretty sure you have to get updated to 4.3 first then unlock. Make sure Google 2 step verification is disabled secondly. I do not know if a 4.2 unlock tool exists for 4.3.

---------- Post added at 06:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:43 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by YayYouFixedIt

Don't you need to update to 4.3 first? Careful. I'm pretty sure you have to get updated to 4.3 first then unlock. Make sure Google 2 step verification is disabled secondly. I do not know if a 4.2 unlock tool exists for 4.3.

Sorry I didn't see you were on 4.3 already.
Last edited by YayYouFixedIt; 22nd February 2014 at 11:52 AM.
22nd February 2014, 12:02 PM   |  #3  
averagegeek's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Does this is a Nexus device? Then you can try Wugfresh Nexus toolkit.

Nexus 7 (2013) with stock AOSP ROM(4.4.2), FRANCO Kernel (r12)
22nd February 2014, 12:03 PM   |  #4  
YayYouFixedIt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by YayYouFixedIt

Don't you need to update to 4.3 first? Careful. I'm pretty sure you have to get updated to 4.3 first then unlock. Make sure Google 2 step verification is disabled secondly. I do not know if a 4.2 unlock tool exists for 4.3.

---------- Post added at 06:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:43 AM ----------



Sorry I didn't see you were on 4.3 already.

I just recollect that I had the same issue. A network error like no internet connection. I just kept trying until it worked. I assumed it was the router.
(Cheap Dlink n300).
22nd February 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #5  
super0dd's Avatar
OP Member
Gotham
Thanks Meter: 10
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by YayYouFixedIt

Don't you need to update to 4.3 first? Careful. I'm pretty sure you have to get updated to 4.3 first then unlock. Make sure Google 2 step verification is disabled secondly. I do not know if a 4.2 unlock tool exists for 4.3.

---------- Post added at 06:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:43 AM ----------



Sorry I didn't see you were on 4.3 already.

Uh, so no solution?
22nd February 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #6  
YayYouFixedIt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by super0dd

Uh, so no solution?

Did you try "fastboot unlock" to unlock the boot loader instead. The Collection thread says you can do that. Try the one included with the SDK for whatever platform your on.
22nd February 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #7  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,126
 
11,639 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YayYouFixedIt

Did you try "fastboot unlock" to unlock the boot loader instead. The Collection thread says you can do that. Try the one included with the SDK for whatever platform your on.

You can only unlock using the asus unlock tool - the bootloader is encrypted and other methods won't work. Just keep trying it - it will eventually unlock. Some people said they had to try it hundreds of times before it eventually let them do it. No idea why.
22nd February 2014, 05:53 PM   |  #8  
super0dd's Avatar
OP Member
Gotham
Thanks Meter: 10
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

You can only unlock using the asus unlock tool - the bootloader is encrypted and other methods won't work. Just keep trying it - it will eventually unlock. Some people said they had to try it hundreds of times before it eventually let them do it. No idea why.

Thank you anyway though I don't think continuous trying unlocking would be a feasible solution since I try billions of times and alter many network accesses. So annoying is it. The stock ROM is slow, odexed, laggy, and with piles of useless apps.

Argh...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF701 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank