Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,223 Members 52,194 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to Root?

Tip us?
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default How to Root?

ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.
 
mb_guy
Old
(Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 04:35 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
ok so i know there are issues rooting this phone lol. i am on 4.3. is there any way to root it. i want to flash vipers rom.
Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy View Post
Install custom recovery TWRP
flash superSU
if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.
 
raghav kapur
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 92
Posts: 417
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.
first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM
 
mb_guy
Old
(Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 03:37 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
if i don't have root how can i flash a custom recoverys and flash super user lol. i have heard of firewater but i just need help. im a noob at the htc one lol. i'm not a noob to flashing though.
Yes you do need to unlock the bootloader, before you can flash a custom recovery. Rooting comes later. The rom is either rooted or not, you do not need one rom to be rooted to flash another.
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur View Post
first you will have to bootloader unlock your One.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuIq0gmYpFA

Then you will have to root:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EE6F-4KjR9I

Then you can flash your ROM
ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).
 
mb_guy
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
ok and i just got this phone off of craigslist and i don't have the unlock code. when i do the factory reset it will make the phone locked to att again. is there a free method for the htc one to sim unlock it. i know for the verizon one its already unlocked. and i know theres easy methods for the galaxy phones (s3, s4, note 2).
This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy View Post
This is NOT the same as unlocking the bootloader. What is your end goal here?
i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.
 
mb_guy
Old
(Last edited by mb_guy; 22nd February 2014 at 04:06 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 334
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
i know lol. i'm not a noob. i just wonder if i'll lose my root. my end goal is to have the phone rooted with viper and have a unlocked sim.
Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.
Phone: HTC One- Rogers unlocked
Rom: 4.4.2 Stock Sense 6
Stock Kernel

Old Phone: HTC Sensation, HD2, Tilt
Rom: ARHD
kernel: stock
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mb_guy View Post
Most custom roms are already rooted when you install, You will not loose the carrier unlock flashing roms.
I also notice you are on Sprint, be very carefull to use the right custom recovery and a compatible rom with that device.
i'm not on sprint. i'm on cincinnati bell. i'm using the att version. i think i might hold off on flashing now i'm scared i'll lose my unlock lol. thanks though.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...