Post Reply

[ROOT] Very Simple E980 root after E98010p update

23rd February 2014, 10:15 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
This is so awesome but I can't post links so....

...wait for it!!!

I can post it on my own web site tho: free-press dot us
Last edited by simpleminded; 23rd February 2014 at 11:20 AM. Reason: can't find 10 posts that i would comment on in order to post something extremely helpful to everyone
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to simpleminded For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #2  
mopo01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 57
 
548 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I copied this from your site.

How To ROOT the Optimus G Pro E-980
after installing the latest update to E98010p

1. Install the drivers if you have not done so yet from http://www.lg.com/us/support-mobile/lg-E980 (under Software Update tab)

2. Install this program (Kingo Android Root) from download.com: http://download.cnet.com/Kingo-Andro...-75996768.html

Notes: You get a download.com installer initially. I was offered two programs I would never use so I declined those and got the actual program from the installer. Nothing was forced so don't freak out. The actual program is 22.5mb.

3. Open the Kingo program after install.

4. Put your phone in USB Debugger mode and connect it to your PC.

5. Select "Install PC Software" on your phone popup and let the Kingo program do its job.

6. The program will attempt root in Odin mode at first and fail and will then automatically use the correct mode and succeed.

Once the program completes you will have rooted your LG Optimus G Pro with "SuperSU" installed. Very simple. Next step is to install a Recovery.

I tried to post this on XDA but I don't have 10 posts so I gave up there. I go there often for solutions and new information but rarely post, but people seemed to be struggling with this and I thought I should give something back. Someone with link posting power can repost this to the forum if you want but please give me some credit for finding this on YouTube. Thanks!!!

Sent from my LG-E980 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by mopo01; 28th February 2014 at 03:57 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mopo01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
really it was so simple
I just installed it and the program worked as promised, thanks man
19th March 2014, 07:51 AM   |  #4  
doublen1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Idaho
Thanks Meter: 29
 
321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Worked for me, now trying it on my Nexus 7 (Flo) ...

**Update**

Nope on the Nexus
Last edited by doublen1; 19th March 2014 at 07:55 AM.
20th March 2014, 04:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I'm gonna take a stab at this and say Freegee will still be required for installing recovery(CWM)?
20th March 2014, 04:17 PM   |  #6  
jimi_pooh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar214

I'm gonna take a stab at this and say Freegee will still be required for installing recovery(CWM)?

FreeGee will put the lokified version of the recovery on your phone, which is needed since the bootloader is still locked
20th March 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Can you tell me, or anyone can tell me, why Rom Manager doesn't work? It says it has Loki support but when I try to use it I get the android with the red symbol denoting it can't boot into recovery. I'm just curious.
20th March 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #8  
jimi_pooh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar214

Can you tell me, or anyone can tell me, why Rom Manager doesn't work? It says it has Loki support but when I try to use it I get the android with the red symbol denoting it can't boot into recovery. I'm just curious.

Not sure....
20th March 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I've read that Kingo and vroot are malicious root programs that might be sending IMEI info to Chinese servers. Then, supposedly other phones can be set up with your credentials. I don't have any way to verify if the aforementioned is true, but I'm just passing it along...


Maybe a web search of vroot and Kingo are in order.....
20th March 2014, 07:27 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
If that is true, and I'm not saying it is or isn't, I'm sure a web search on the matter could tell you what to look for. Such as hidden malicious apps installed, etc. It would be a prudent move to check into it but nothing to panic over until and/or unless there is some truth to it. Just my 2 cents on the matter....lol

---------- Post added at 02:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:02 PM ----------

Just because you brought it up Andy, I went into all my settings and apps. This method DOES install an app in your phone. I probably should have wrote down the app info before I removed it but I forgot to. it's not rocket science to figure it out on your own though. You see a blue icon with some Chinese writing on it. I went ahead and removed it from my phone just to be safe. But chances are IF this app is sending ANY data to a foreign server, it has done so already because it's been in my phone for a few hours already before I noticed it.

I did read online about the uploading of IMEI numbers but ONLY to build a database from but that feature has since been removed because of the concerns it raised.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Optimus G Pro Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank