Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more
Post Reply

H3G UK 4G update when running custom ROMS

OP Mega Maniac

12th January 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Hey,

So I'm on H3G in the UK and installed a custom ROM a few months back. When H3G rolled out 4G in London and Manchester (I'm in manc) I wasn't getting LTE even in the town centre.

Now on the H3G website it says that they will roll out a software update to switch the phone "on" for 4G, I'm guessing I don't have that as I'm running a custom ROM. Is there any way to get this update, or update any part of the phone such as the radio so it will receive 4G on H3G in the UK?

HTC One
H3G UK
ReVolt ROM 4.2.2
3.4.10 ReVolt Kernal
Baseband: 4A.17.3250.14_10.39.1150.04L
12th January 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 966
 
3,664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
You could try dialling *#*#4636#*#* trick and selecting GSM/WCDMA/LTE Auto
13th January 2014, 09:04 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
It was already on GSM/LTE auto, and I'm guessing that the ROM would be set to this?

It also just seems to switch back to GSM/LTE auto even is I change it to the one with CDMA.

Either way I don't think its going to allow me to connect like that :/
17th January 2014, 09:57 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Nothing on this

I may have to set aside some time for going completely back to stock I guess.
17th January 2014, 10:57 AM   |  #5  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,426 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Maniac

Nothing on this

I may have to set aside some time for going completely back to stock I guess.

Maybe just wait till they push it and have someone dump it and see what it is. Might be as simple as a new APN....
17th January 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960

Maybe just wait till they push it and have someone dump it and see what it is. Might be as simple as a new APN....

That's what I was hoping for out of this topic, they started pushing 4G to London, Manchester, B'ham and Reading in mid December, so its in the wilds, but there is nothing online that I can find relating to it.

Is there any way to "capture" an OTA update as it comes in?

And has anyone reading this got the update already?

I guess being in UK, and on H3G, and the limited roll out really narrows the number of members here who might have it :/

Edit: I have just read that the December roll out was only to 3000 select customers (they REALLY like the number 3), basically a beta (for people who dont just hang up on the marketing team), and the major roll out happens in Feb. Perhaps I was being a bit eager :'(
Last edited by Mega Maniac; 17th January 2014 at 11:41 AM.
17th January 2014, 11:45 AM   |  #7  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 310
 
1,426 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Maniac

That's what I was hoping for out of this topic, they started pushing 4G to London, Manchester, B'ham and Reading in mid December, so its in the wilds, but there is nothing online that I can find relating to it.

Is there any way to "capture" an OTA update as it comes in?

And has anyone reading this got the update already?

I guess being in UK, and on H3G, and the limited roll out really narrows the number of members here who might have it :/

Edit: I have just read that the December roll out was only to 3000 select customers (they REALLY like the number 3), basically a beta (for people who dont just hang up on the marketing team), and the major roll out happens in Feb. Perhaps I was being a bit eager :'(

who can blame you.

you're not alone either: http://blog.three.co.uk/2013/12/04/4...-out-on-three/
17th January 2014, 12:24 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960

who can blame you.

you're not alone either: http://blog.three.co.uk/2013/12/04/4...-out-on-three/

Haha, it is a slow rollout, but my speeds on DC-HSDPA are already faster than my home internet (which itself is a bit ****, as I'm in flats) at around 5Mbps. I have been on all the networks and in my experience it blows all of the rest out of the water, when 4G finally gets here, for free, completely unlimited and (on The One Plan) including tethering I cant see there being any other choice for a heavy internet user.
23rd February 2014, 10:43 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
LTE got switched on for me today, no updates of any kind needed.

So for those out there on H3G running custom ROMs, its just a waiting game, as soon as H3G flip the switch in your area it will start working. Speedy too

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes