Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,623 Members 50,549 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Reboot loop on GT-I9000M

Tip us?
 
Raahul
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default [Q] Reboot loop on GT-I9000M

I'm trying to upgrade my phone from Froyo to Gingerbread - stock only. I flashed using Odin and the Samsung drivers installed, but the phone refuses to boot up, continually stuck in a reboot loop. How do I fix this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1796807

I'm using the files from here, specifically

i9000M Upgrade or Downgrade GB 2.3.3 UGKG3 ROM + UGKG3 Root & CWM + 512 PIT Ideal base for upgrading to ICS and JB

I was on Froyo 2.2. How do I flash these files using only Odin? Is that enough to fix this endless loop, or do I have to flash back to stock Froyo,
which I can't find for the GT-I9000M.
 
xsenman
Old
#2  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,223
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raahul View Post
I'm trying to upgrade my phone from Froyo to Gingerbread - stock only. I flashed using Odin and the Samsung drivers installed, but the phone refuses to boot up, continually stuck in a reboot loop. How do I fix this?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1796807

I'm using the files from here, specifically

i9000M Upgrade or Downgrade GB 2.3.3 UGKG3 ROM + UGKG3 Root & CWM + 512 PIT Ideal base for upgrading to ICS and JB

I was on Froyo 2.2. How do I flash these files using only Odin? Is that enough to fix this endless loop, or do I have to flash back to stock Froyo,
which I can't find for the GT-I9000M.
try flashing the dbdata.rfs file in Odin3 as PDA, file attached in [Tutorial] How to Unbrick, Flash, Downgrade, Root, Update i9000 from Froyo to Kit Kat

 
Raahul
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Trying to figure out odin

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsenman View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. Right now I'm attempting this fix.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1796807

I've just downloaded this file and done the following in Odin.

Pit -> 2010512.pit
CSC ->CSC_BMCKG3.tar.md5
PDA -> PDA_UGKG3_Sbl.tar.md5
Phone -> PDA_UGKG3_Sbl.tar.md5

I'm not sure what to do with the rooted CWM kernel file. Does that come in play after flashing Stock GB, as I'm setup to do now?
 
xsenman
Old
#4  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,223
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raahul View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. Right now I'm attempting this fix.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1796807

I've just downloaded this file and done the following in Odin.

Pit -> 2010512.pit
CSC ->CSC_BMCKG3.tar.md5
PDA -> PDA_UGKG3_Sbl.tar.md5
Phone -> PDA_UGKG3_Sbl.tar.md5

I'm not sure what to do with the rooted CWM kernel file. Does that come in play after flashing Stock GB, as I'm setup to do now?
you flash the CWM & Root Kernel after the gingerbread ROM has booted , only if you intent to flash a custom ROM, if not you can use device as is.

The Following User Says Thank You to xsenman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Raahul
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Upgrading stock GB to CWM and root

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsenman View Post
you flash the CWM & Root Kernel after the gingerbread ROM has booted , only if you intent to flash a custom ROM, if not you can use device as is.
Ok. After following your linked guide, I finally have a working gingerbread stock ROM. But I am now hungry for more! MORE I say.
How do I flash the CWM & Root kernel? Is it select PDA and open the KG3-CWM-Kernel.tar file. Auto-reboot and F.reset the ONLY things ticked off. Is that enough to give me a nicely rooted phone?

And after that how do I get to the newest Android that runs well on this phone?
 
xsenman
Old
#6  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,223
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raahul View Post
Ok. After following your linked guide, I finally have a working gingerbread stock ROM. But I am now hungry for more! MORE I say.
How do I flash the CWM & Root kernel? Is it select PDA and open the KG3-CWM-Kernel.tar file. Auto-reboot and F.reset the ONLY things ticked off. Is that enough to give me a nicely rooted phone?

And after that how do I get to the newest Android that runs well on this phone?
yes, just follow the gingerbread guide in [Tutorial] How to Unbrick, Flash, Downgrade, Root, Update i9000 from Froyo to Kit Kat
and after that follow the guide step by step to where you want to go.

 
Raahul
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default CM 10.2 works on GT-I9000M?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsenman View Post
yes, just follow the gingerbread guide in [Tutorial] How to Unbrick, Flash, Downgrade, Root, Update i9000 from Froyo to Kit Kat
and after that follow the guide step by step to where you want to go.
Do I have to be striclty sequential, GB ->ICS -> JB, or can I go direct from GB-> JB? I would love to get to Cyanogen Mod Jelly Bean, which I assume works on GT-I9000M. Can I use the CM 10.2 for Galaxy S on the Canadian phone or not?
 
xsenman
Old
#8  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,223
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raahul View Post
Do I have to be striclty sequential, GB ->ICS -> JB, or can I go direct from GB-> JB? I would love to get to Cyanogen Mod Jelly Bean, which I assume works on GT-I9000M. Can I use the CM 10.2 for Galaxy S on the Canadian phone or not?
Generally, I advice members the safe path, in order to avoid complications, so yes its advisable to go from GB > ICS > Jellybean . You can jump from GB > Jellybean and depending on ROM, you could lose your IMEI, that's why my guide advises you to backup your efs folder first. To avoid problems, its GB>ICS>JB. up to you.

So read the tutorial fully and do the needful first before you attempt to flash.

second thing is, you are using UGKG3 modem ( meant for bell Canada) . as such, if your reception is not good after the upgrade you need to flash this modem on top of the ROM, you had chosen to get the same reception.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes