5,598,171 Members 44,347 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

proximity issues

Tip us?
 
blulite
Old
#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 267
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219 View Post
Lol neither am I, disagreements dont have to be fights. But if it works on one type of software but not on the other, wouldn't you say software has something to do with it?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Just to be clear. I was having the proximity issue on CM11, so I went back to TW (thinking it was a CM11 bug). I then realized I was having issue with TW. The key difference under TW is that I was able to turn on the screen with the side power button (so at least I could use the phone). I then came across the dirty proximity thing via a Google search, "initially scoffed at it", then tried it. It worked, the proximity sensor was working like new under TW. I then went back to CM11 and confirmed it worked there, and posted my result. Since then, many have tried from the CM11 post and it helped them out. This morning I found this thread and thought I would share.

All the rest of this CM11 vs TW noise is not adding to the dialogue. It appears Samsung has a design flaw and that many of us are getting dirt under the glass (covering the proximity sensor). So load whatever firmware you like, but if you have a dirty proximity sensor then just follow my post and see if cleaning it helps out.

Nuff said.... I'm out.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to blulite For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joshm.1219
Old
#22  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 880
Posts: 2,233
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by blulite View Post
Just to be clear. I was having the proximity issue on CM11, so I went back to TW (thinking it was a CM11 bug). I then realized I was having issue with TW. The key difference under TW is that I was able to turn on the screen with the side power button (so at least I could use the phone). I then came across the dirty proximity thing via a Google search, "initially scoffed at it", then tried it. It worked, the proximity sensor was working like new under TW. I then went back to CM11 and confirmed it worked there, and posted my result. Since then, many have tried from the CM11 post and it helped them out. This morning I found this thread and thought I would share.

All the rest of this CM11 vs TW noise is not adding to the dialogue. It appears Samsung has a design flaw and that many of us are getting dirt under the glass (covering the proximity sensor). So load whatever firmware you like, but if you have a dirty proximity sensor then just follow my post and see if cleaning it helps out.

Nuff said.... I'm out.
After clarifying things with spotmark I agree with what you're saying.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2848/11738368925_6e7dbef510_o.png
  • CARRIER: VERIZON
  • DEVICE: HTC ONE MAX
  • RECOVERY: TWRP 2.7
  • ROM: NUSENSE SIX
  • KERNEL: CLEANKERNEL
  • LAUNCHER: TSF SHELL
  • XPOSED MODULES: Greenify/KeepChat/NotifyClean/Sense6Toolbox/Snapshare/YoutubeAdAway
  • CASE: POWER FLIP
  • HACKS: LIFETIME FREE PIZZA DELIVERY
 
jamesd1085
Old
#23  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 254
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Columbus
Soooooo...yeah...took my S4 apart just for shiz and gigs...what matter of filth is this...it was covered...thanks to those who suggested it...wonder what kind of settings tw uses that it works...and I also wonder what kind of filthy conditions Samsung is buildIng our devices in for that much nasty to be inside...echhhh
 
DBak451
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 6
Join Date: Apr 2011
I had issues with the proximity sensor on HD 10.2 with Kt kernel, I don't recall which version. Yet it always worked fine when I used the TW kernel. Seems to be software related. My friend's phone had the same issue, flashed a different ROM and used the stock kernel and no more issues.
 
fivejuantwo
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2011
I removed the back to my s4 and then pulled the prox sensor off, It had a large piece of black something in front worked great ever since i remove it.
 
saul1991
Old
#26  
saul1991's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 107
Posts: 956
Join Date: Jul 2011
im having the same issue in cm but i doubt its the proximity sensor screen is black and phone will not wake up even if i press the home button.
 
blulite
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 267
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by saul1991 View Post
im having the same issue in cm but i doubt its the proximity sensor screen is black and phone will not wake up even if i press the home button.
That's exactly how my phone was acting. It was very frustrating as I couldn't "wake the phone" to use the phone keypad. I tried home, power, volume, and nothing would wake it up. Clean the sensor and you won't believe your eyes........ I'm pretty sure it will be fixed.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes