5,604,507 Members 46,840 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FASTBOOT] Google Play Edition images (semi-official)

Tip us?
 
NonsensNinja
Old
#111  
NonsensNinja's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 28
Join Date: Feb 2013
Is semi official bug free and does it work with European GSM?
 
dondian
Old
#112  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 70
Join Date: May 2007
I'm running it on european gsm for about a week now. So far I haven't found any bugs.

Sent from my Moto G GPE
 
scott_doyland
Old
#113  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 427
Join Date: Dec 2011
The motoboot.img in the 4.4.2 non-GPE stock ROM and the GPE stock ROM (ie the 'official' motorola leaked ROMS) are the same.

I ran a binary diff on the motobot.img files.

This means the bootloader for non-GPE and GPE are exactly the same. Thats assuming the leaked ROMS actually are the real official Motorola ROMS and non-one has fiddled with motoboot.img before they have been uploaded.

Therefore the process of unlocking will be the same I suspect, I dont see how it can be any different, ie GPE phones need a code to unlock them.

So even if you flash motoboot.img from GPE to non-GPE (ie basically reflash the SAME bootloader) the bootloader will either:
a) need unlocking again via code (if reflashing motoboot.img locks it)
b) stay unlocked.
Either way the phone knows it has at one time been unlocked due to blown fuses or whatever method is used.

I suspect it stays unlocked but maybe someone can confirm.

What you cant do is flash GPE bootloader and expect it to work like a Nexus bootloader, because as I said, its the same as the non-GPE bootloader. Now Im waiting for someone to prove me wrong
 
wildestpixel
Old
#114  
wildestpixel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 545
Posts: 931
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott_doyland View Post
The motoboot.img in the 4.4.2 non-GPE stock ROM and the GPE stock ROM (ie the 'official' motorola leaked ROMS) are the same.

I ran a binary diff on the motobot.img files.

This means the bootloader for non-GPE and GPE are exactly the same. Thats assuming the leaked ROMS actually are the real official Motorola ROMS and non-one has fiddled with motoboot.img before they have been uploaded.

Therefore the process of unlocking will be the same I suspect, I dont see how it can be any different, ie GPE phones need a code to unlock them.

So even if you flash motoboot.img from GPE to non-GPE (ie basically reflash the SAME bootloader) the bootloader will either:
a) need unlocking again via code (if reflashing motoboot.img locks it)
b) stay unlocked.
Either way the phone knows it has at one time been unlocked due to blown fuses or whatever method is used.

I suspect it stays unlocked but maybe someone can confirm.

What you cant do is flash GPE bootloader and expect it to work like a Nexus bootloader, because as I said, its the same as the non-GPE bootloader. Now Im waiting for someone to prove me wrong
It will stay unlocked as the bits for unlocking are stored in secure band / emmc space. You can keep flashing different boot loaders but they will always check boot loader status from secure area and report locked or unlocked.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
chlehqls
Old
#115  
chlehqls's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 351
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Toledo, OH

 
DONATE TO ME
Does this work with T-Mobile USA?
[Retired Devices: LG LX370, EVO 3D, Galaxy S2, Galaxy Nexus]

Current Device: Nexus 4, Samsung Chromebook
Android Version: 4.2.2
ROM: Stock
Kernel: Stock or Faux's

Click HERE for 2GB of free DropBox storage plus we get more storage!
 
CosmoDroid
Old
#116  
CosmoDroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 220
Posts: 250
Join Date: Jan 2012
GPE on XT1033 (HowTo)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2661022

Current Devices - LG G2 (D802), Moto G (XT1033), Nokia X, iPod 5th Gen.


Retired Devices - Nokia 5233, Sony Ericsson Wt19i, Samsung P7500, Samsung N7000, Nokia Lumia 720, Sony Xperia Z1 (C6902), Google Nexus 5 .


The Following User Says Thank You to CosmoDroid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
VictoriousShooter
Old
#117  
VictoriousShooter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 276
Posts: 686
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sanford/Lake Mary
Will this work on the Boost variant of the Moto G?

Sent from my XT1031 using Tapatalk
 
jaggu1989
Old
#118  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jalandhar

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Moto G GPE logo.bin

hey ,

i need logo.bin file for GPE ... only that bootscreen which shows google only ... thanks in advance
 
robin0800
Old
#119  
robin0800's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 200
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaggu1989 View Post
hey ,

i need logo.bin file for GPE ... only that bootscreen which shows google only ... thanks in advance
Here you go

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2548530
:
Robin0800
The Following User Says Thank You to robin0800 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mhdsanto85
Old
#120  
mhdsanto85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 551
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: São José dos Campos SP

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by denzel09 View Post
Hello guys,

I read all the thread but I'm not sure yet.

Do I need to unlock the bootloader before flashing this official image? Or is it possible to go flashing over a totally stock 1032 device?

Is there a root method to gpe?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Tags
falcon_gpe, fastboot, firmware, gpe, moto-g
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes