Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Problem to flash a new ROM from ViperSaga 2.2.0

OP teto84

15th February 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hi,
i have some problem to flash a new rom on my desire s. Yesterday i've tried to pass from Viper Saga 2.2.0 (Android 4.0.4; Sense 4.1; s-off ) to Cyanogen Mod roms.

After the backup of my data with 4EXT RECOVERY i've followed the basic step to flash the rom (this isn't the first time that i done it):
- i put my phone in recovery mode using 4EXT RECOVERY
- i've done the wipe data/factory reset
- wipe cache (done)
- wipe dalvik (done)
- select install zip from sd card (done)
- i've chosen the zip file with the rom (done)
- the rom was succesful installed
- i chose reboot from 4EXT RECOVERY
- the phone starts the reboot
--> and there is the problem. My phone remain locked at the white frame with the htc green logo. After that the only thing i can do is to enter in the bootloader, starts the recovery mod, wipe data/cache/dalvik and reactivate Viper Saga rom backupped.

I have the same problem with tohise rom:
[ROM] Unofficial " Nightly " CM11.0 [20140208] for Saga
[ROM] Unofficial " Nightly " CM10.2 [20131220] for Saga
CyanogenMod 10.1 ANDROMADUS -Build 22- || Android 4.2.2

someone can help me?
Last edited by teto84; 15th February 2014 at 03:50 PM.
16th February 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #2  
jugg1es's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,983
 
13,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
First off, this is general section. Questions should be asked in the Q&A forum.

Are you aware of your panel type, there are two. Sony and Hitachi /mddi. If you have the latter than running the latest roms is going to be difficult for you.
To find out, open a terminal window and type
su
dmesg | grep -i panel

If you cannot see Sony written anywhere then you should visit the Desire S none Sony screen hangout lounge for more information
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1943524

[GUIDE][6 OCT] Non-Sony Screen Panel Desire S Users Lounge + How-To

the difference between bravery and foolhardiness is in the outcome
Last edited by jugg1es; 16th February 2014 at 12:39 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to jugg1es For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hi jugg1es i'm sorry next time i'll post my question in the right section.

I've followed the guide that you linked and my smartphone hasn't the sony panel then i tried to follow the instructions:
- download the kernel for android 4.2.x
- put the kerne on the SD
- reboot in recovery mode
- wipe data/cache/dalvik
- flash the rom CyanogenMod 10.1 ANDROMADUS -Build 22- || Android 4.2.2 and the GAPPS
- flash the kernel for android 4.2.x
- reboot

but the problem still remain, the screen is locked at the white frame with the green htc logo.
I've tried with different recovery (CWM and 4EXT Recovery touch).

What can i do?
19th February 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
I've try many times but the result is the same. i've also updated the HBOOT from 6.98... to 07.00.1002 | followed the Guide to Flash a Rom in a Perfect Way...., but the problem still remain!
somebady can help me please?
19th February 2014, 10:34 AM   |  #5  
jugg1es's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,983
 
13,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teto84

I've try many times but the result is the same. i've also updated the HBOOT from 6.98... to 07.00.1002 | followed the Guide to Flash a Rom in a Perfect Way...., but the problem still remain!
somebady can help me please?

Flash a sense based rom and see if it still boots

the difference between bravery and foolhardiness is in the outcome
The Following User Says Thank You to jugg1es For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2014, 03:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jugg1es

Flash a sense based rom and see if it still boots

the difference between bravery and foolhardiness is in the outcome

I tried some sense based roms and they work perfectly. Now i have SVHD Rom with lite sense that seems to be very smooth.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes