The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

phone power button broken. how to i reset to send to verizon

OP makos101

24th February 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Pennsilvania
Thanks Meter: 0
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Hello my phone's power button just died and my phone wont turn on. Its being replaced by verizon for free. Is there any way I can reformat it so I dont get in trouble for an open boot loader and a rooted rom? My phone wont turn on at all because the power button is not connected. So I need to do something when its powered off to reset it. Thank you
24th February 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I can't try this but maybe it's worth a shot.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128581

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
24th February 2014, 05:27 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Pennsilvania
Thanks Meter: 0
 
80 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kurisu

I can't try this but maybe it's worth a shot.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2128581

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk

I gave it a try but didnt have any luck. Any other suggestions?
24th February 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Googling this brings up many more xda threads than I could reasonably read. However, being much more motivated you might try them. Post back any results. It would be nice to be able to help others.

Cut and paste this search string. Note the site: syntax that returns only results from xda forums and the inclusion of s3 and siii to narrow it to your device.

site:xda-developers.com broken power button turn on "s3" "siii

Edit: replace the emoticon with a : directly followed by an x. Sheesh!
Last edited by Chris Kurisu; 25th February 2014 at 07:39 AM.
24th February 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by makos101

I gave it a try but didnt have any luck. Any other suggestions?

1. Take the battery out of the phone and unplug it from USB power.
2. Plug in USB power.
3. While holding down the volume-down button and the Home button, insert the battery.
4. The phone should start in Download mode, from here you can use Odin to return the phone to stock.
25th February 2014, 06:30 AM   |  #6  
Sandman-007's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Newnan
Thanks Meter: 1,997
 
2,876 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquestrapp

1. Take the battery out of the phone and unplug it from USB power.
2. Plug in USB power.
3. While holding down the volume-down button and the Home button, insert the battery.
4. The phone should start in Download mode, from here you can use Odin to return the phone to stock.

Maybe you should read the OP before posting. His power button is broken. So he can't enter Odin

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
25th February 2014, 07:41 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
I also read that doing the volume down and home button combo without battery but plugged in enters download mode. Wild. Any luck?

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk
25th February 2014, 08:10 AM   |  #8  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
You can enter download mode without the power button.

Use terminal emulator,

Su
reboot download

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
25th February 2014, 02:25 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandman-007

Maybe you should read the OP before posting. His power button is broken. So he can't enter Odin

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Maybe you should read what I wrote. I didn't mention the power button because you don't need it to get into Download mode.
25th February 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Per Jacquestrapp I took the battery out of my s3, plugged into to usb power, held the home/vol down key combo while re-inserting the battery (not easy) and it's now in download mode. Try it. It should work for you.

Sent from my SM-T210 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes