Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,045 Members 38,369 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Error while trying to update to 4.4 (D800)

Tip us?
 
rohan611
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hinduboy74 View Post
Let us know if you went back to stock then did the update and it worked.
I reverted back to stock using the instructions in the Stickied post. I was then able to update to D80010o. I had to call to request a rep to push out the D80010q update again though. They're calling it a "security update" so you should use that phrase when talking to the rep so that they don't get confused and think that you're just requesting that they push out the KitKat update.

Once I got the D80010q update, the KitKat update was available and I was able to update. Unfortunately, I didn't try to root it prior to updating - though to be honest, I don't really feel the need to root anymore. Only reason I had it rooted before was to get the multitasking button, but I'm okay with using an S3 layout (Menu, Home, Back) since that's the phone I'm coming from.
 
streetsmart999
Old
#12  
streetsmart999's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 566
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Default I have posted this in Other thread too.. may be this helps (Or save some time)

1.What ever the phone came with (never saw the version)
2. Rooted: Then just froze the apps I don't need (DID NOT DELETE) NO Exposed Or anything fancy. PURE STOCK just at&T bloat froze.
3. Then the Silent update came... I guess it was 10q (few weeks back), It was fine... ROOT remained.
4. Kitkat update came..
5. I de-froze all the apps before the update..
6. Tried to installed KITKAT after download... (After 1 of 2) it says Err: 0x111004
Once booted it said this update is not for rooted device. (or something similar)
7. I thought may be it recognized SuperSU/Super USer so I Uninstalled (Removed complete ROOT through the app) Download again the Kitkat.. Same ERROR And SAME message. I went it Recovery (Button combo) to complete wipe (Noticed RED Rooted below on the screen on Recovery) did the complete wipe and Still No Luck.

8. Go back to Complete stock through flash method as I realized ROOTED written on recovery so no wipe will help that...
9. chat with AT&T asked them to push 10q the silent updated.
10. once it was done I asked her if she can push Kitkat too.. she did.

The only thing was lost all the data in the process.. But I kept my pic's Auto backup through g+ so they are safe.. rest everything I lost which I don't care anyway. (Chat etc)

SO the BOTTOM LINE IS... If you see ROOTED on your stock recovery NO matter what you do... It will not update. If you dont see it.. then your are fine I Guess ("I guess" is the keyword)

Edit:
Also I'm not sure if there are 2 versions of root methods... So if anyone has Root and was able to update to kitkat.. Can you link which Root method you guys used.. Thanks in advance.

Current Phone:LG optimus G And SONY TL
Current Tab: Galaxy Tab 10.1 And Asus TF300T
Previously SGS2 Intl + Atrix 2 VictoryRom By Me
Previously Infuse 4G (VictoryRom_KL2 By me.. )
Previously Captivate With VictoryRom. By Me
CLICK THANKS AND PLEASE DONATE TO DEVELOPERS IF U LIKE THE WORK. Even $1 makes a difference.
********
 
rohan611
Old
#13  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetsmart999 View Post
Also I'm not sure if there are 2 versions of root methods... So if anyone has Root and was able to update to kitkat.. Can you link which Root method you guys used.. Thanks in advance.
I used ioroot to root while on D80010d. I think some people who have had success rooted while on D80010o
 
bigfau
Old
#14  
bigfau's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 10,786
Posts: 5,057
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Zanesville, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohan611 View Post
I used ioroot to root while on D80010d. I think some people who have had success rooted while on D80010o
That is correct. I was on D80010o all four times I updated to Kit-kat and kept root everytime.
 
ncfastls1
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 660
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cary, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by streetsmart999 View Post
1.What ever the phone came with (never saw the version)
2. Rooted: Then just froze the apps I don't need (DID NOT DELETE) NO Exposed Or anything fancy. PURE STOCK just at&T bloat froze.
3. Then the Silent update came... I guess it was 10q (few weeks back), It was fine... ROOT remained.
4. Kitkat update came..
5. I de-froze all the apps before the update..
6. Tried to installed KITKAT after download... (After 1 of 2) it says Err: 0x111004
Once booted it said this update is not for rooted device. (or something similar)
7. I thought may be it recognized SuperSU/Super USer so I Uninstalled (Removed complete ROOT through the app) Download again the Kitkat.. Same ERROR And SAME message. I went it Recovery (Button combo) to complete wipe (Noticed RED Rooted below on the screen on Recovery) did the complete wipe and Still No Luck.

8. Go back to Complete stock through flash method as I realized ROOTED written on recovery so no wipe will help that...
9. chat with AT&T asked them to push 10q the silent updated.
10. once it was done I asked her if she can push Kitkat too.. she did.

The only thing was lost all the data in the process.. But I kept my pic's Auto backup through g+ so they are safe.. rest everything I lost which I don't care anyway. (Chat etc)

SO the BOTTOM LINE IS... If you see ROOTED on your stock recovery NO matter what you do... It will not update. If you dont see it.. then your are fine I Guess ("I guess" is the keyword)

Edit:
Also I'm not sure if there are 2 versions of root methods... So if anyone has Root and was able to update to kitkat.. Can you link which Root method you guys used.. Thanks in advance.
Same thing happened to me. I followed your advice in the other thread and did a reset using the LG flash tool, following rootjunky's guide on youtube and using the files from his website. Everything went smoothly except for at the end I got the same check flag error thing, but it completed the reset perfectly.

I then chatted with ATT and had him push the update to my phone which brought me up to d80010o. It finally went through the update and didn't get me the root error. So I think I'm in the green now. He said that he didn't have an option to push the kit kat update to my phone but it told him to have me do it through the software update in the settings. Which I tried and it said it was up to date. But he said that since they roll out in batches my phone might just not be ready for it yet. I will keep trying though and I'm one step further than I was before. At least it let me update. Shout out to ATT though, chat service is on point.
Phone: LG Optimus G
Rooted and Unlocked via FreeGee
Recovery: TWRP 2.3.3.0
ROM: Lifeless V3
Previous phones...Kyocera Slider, Motorola Razr, LG Shine, LG Vu, Evo 4G, Evo 3D

Tablet: Nexus 7
Recovery: TWRP 2.3.3.0
ROM: Paranoid Android 2.52
Kernel: Show-p's Bricked .55
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes