FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] [20a] stuck in cwm bootloop after installing 20b update

162 posts
Thanks Meter: 61
 
By LamerDuck, Senior Member on 26th February 2014, 12:27 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?
Its not important for me if i run stock or CM, but even when i install my CM backup now it still boots into recovery.
holding <down> while rebooting gives me "S/W Upgrade - Please wait while upgrading".
it seems the 20b update is still present and trying to boot into stock recovery, resulting in cwm getting loaded everytime.

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings
Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 01:42 PM.
 
 
26th February 2014, 01:18 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings

i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus
26th February 2014, 01:24 PM |#3  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moneyvirus

i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus

hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.
Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 01:44 PM.
26th February 2014, 02:12 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.

sorry but i can't help you with the flag... i solved it by reflashing but i have to admit it's quite drastic.
26th February 2014, 03:35 PM |#5  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page
26th February 2014, 03:41 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page

it's allready a lot of months a go but i think i used this thread.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2179126

Goodluck m8
26th February 2014, 04:00 PM |#7  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groningen
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

well.. i will reflash stock i guess.(

Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.
26th February 2014, 04:20 PM |#8  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by balloon27

Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.

if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.

i am trying to flash stock ROM now with kdz updater ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2069723 ), and if this does not work i am going through every method thats there..
total overkill for a working phone thats just too stupid to boot the right option..

@moneyvirus: thx
26th February 2014, 04:34 PM |#9  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groningen
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.

Not sure about this, but the S/W mode might make a difference here. No harm in trying, right?
26th February 2014, 04:45 PM |#10  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 61
 
More
well. i was able to install stock 20a with kdz updater and link above.
cwm is gone now ofc, but everything at least works.
in some hours i will be rooted and cwm'ed again, but well... its always the same lesson: never touch a running system.
but maybe here's the wrong place to insist on this wisdom
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, cwm, p880

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes