Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,924 Members 45,464 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] [20a] stuck in cwm bootloop after installing 20b update

Tip us?
 
LamerDuck
Old
(Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 01:42 PM.)
#1  
LamerDuck's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mainz
Question [Q] [20a] stuck in cwm bootloop after installing 20b update

Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?
Its not important for me if i run stock or CM, but even when i install my CM backup now it still boots into recovery.
holding <down> while rebooting gives me "S/W Upgrade - Please wait while upgrading".
it seems the 20b update is still present and trying to boot into stock recovery, resulting in cwm getting loaded everytime.

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings
 
moneyvirus
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 168
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck View Post
Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings
i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus
 
LamerDuck
Old
(Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 01:44 PM.)
#3  
LamerDuck's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mainz
Quote:
Originally Posted by moneyvirus View Post
i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus
hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.
 
moneyvirus
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 168
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck View Post
hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.
sorry but i can't help you with the flag... i solved it by reflashing but i have to admit it's quite drastic.
 
LamerDuck
Old
#5  
LamerDuck's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mainz
well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page
 
moneyvirus
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 168
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck View Post
well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page
it's allready a lot of months a go but i think i used this thread.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2179126

Goodluck m8
 
balloon27
Old
#7  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 222
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Groningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck View Post
well.. i will reflash stock i guess.(
Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.
 
LamerDuck
Old
#8  
LamerDuck's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mainz
Quote:
Originally Posted by balloon27 View Post
Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.
if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.

i am trying to flash stock ROM now with kdz updater ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2069723 ), and if this does not work i am going through every method thats there..
total overkill for a working phone thats just too stupid to boot the right option..

@moneyvirus: thx
 
balloon27
Old
#9  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 222
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Groningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck View Post
if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.
Not sure about this, but the S/W mode might make a difference here. No harm in trying, right?
 
LamerDuck
Old
#10  
LamerDuck's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 140
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mainz
well. i was able to install stock 20a with kdz updater and link above.
cwm is gone now ofc, but everything at least works.
in some hours i will be rooted and cwm'ed again, but well... its always the same lesson: never touch a running system.
but maybe here's the wrong place to insist on this wisdom

Tags
bootloop, cwm, p880
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more