Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] [20a] stuck in cwm bootloop after installing 20b update

OP LamerDuck

26th February 2014, 01:27 PM   |  #1  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 60
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?
Its not important for me if i run stock or CM, but even when i install my CM backup now it still boots into recovery.
holding <down> while rebooting gives me "S/W Upgrade - Please wait while upgrading".
it seems the 20b update is still present and trying to boot into stock recovery, resulting in cwm getting loaded everytime.

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings
Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 02:42 PM.
26th February 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

Hi,

i am stuck in a bootloop.
i have an unlocked bootloader and had CM10.1 previously.
i then went back to an old 20a backup i made some month ago.
that worked fine.
my phone downloaded an update to 20b then, and i installed it.

after that i am stuck in a bootloop now. normal booting gives me cwm.
i am not able to turn the phone off and charge it, as mentioned somewhere else, to clear the "boot to recovery" flag.

someone knows a way to clear this flag?

(cwm works fine, i can upload a zip and execute it)

greetings

i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus
26th February 2014, 02:24 PM   |  #3  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 60
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by moneyvirus

i had the same, if you want to install ota updates you should have the "original" recovery.
i flashed it back to stock with LG .kdz flasher. if i remember correct flashing a backup from sd card won't slove this problem.

Greetings
moneyvirus

hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.
Last edited by LamerDuck; 26th February 2014 at 02:44 PM.
26th February 2014, 03:12 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

hm, i remember having the same problem while installing CM. there was something i did to interrupt the loop, and yes, i think the original LG suite or kdz was involved. but i should not need to reflash the original rom.. its just a flag, i should be able to clear it with sideload/zip/button combination.

[edit] maybe i wasnt clear about that: i dont need the 20b upgrade, i would love to cancel the update process, if that makes my phone boot again.

sorry but i can't help you with the flag... i solved it by reflashing but i have to admit it's quite drastic.
26th February 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #5  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 60
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page
26th February 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

well..
i will reflash stock i guess.
do you remember which thread/tool/drivers you used to reflash?
i am on win7 and my PC isnt able to load fastboot nor LG mobile usb drivers.
i have them installed but get the yellow warning on both in windows hardware administration page

it's allready a lot of months a go but i think i used this thread.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2179126

Goodluck m8
26th February 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #7  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groningen
Thanks Meter: 86
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

well.. i will reflash stock i guess.(

Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.
26th February 2014, 05:20 PM   |  #8  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 60
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by balloon27

Easiest way to reflash stock is to force an update using the LGMobile Support Tool. Once your phone is connected (I suggest the S/W Update mode) look for the option somewhere in the upper right menu.

Edit: This will also revert to the stock recovery.

if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.

i am trying to flash stock ROM now with kdz updater ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2069723 ), and if this does not work i am going through every method thats there..
total overkill for a working phone thats just too stupid to boot the right option..

@moneyvirus: thx
26th February 2014, 05:34 PM   |  #9  
balloon27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Groningen
Thanks Meter: 86
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by LamerDuck

if i recall correctly, the LGMobile Support Tool tool wont recognize my phone, since i have a custom kernel, unlocked bootloader and a custom ROM.

Not sure about this, but the S/W mode might make a difference here. No harm in trying, right?
26th February 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #10  
LamerDuck's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mainz
Thanks Meter: 60
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
well. i was able to install stock 20a with kdz updater and link above.
cwm is gone now ofc, but everything at least works.
in some hours i will be rooted and cwm'ed again, but well... its always the same lesson: never touch a running system.
but maybe here's the wrong place to insist on this wisdom

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloop, cwm, p880
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes