5,597,354 Members 32,826 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

G2 Changing the headphone button to control music playback

Tip us?
 
ash0074
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default G2 Changing the headphone button to control music playback

Hi all, hopefully someone can help me, I tried to do the change on my rooted phone from key 226 HEADSETHOOK to "key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE"

Question is, my original line for key 226 HEADSETHOOK is formatted weird, it has no number sign and a few extra spaces stock. Do i replace it with key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE, no number sign and no quotations? Do I mimic the spacing? Currently, this is what my headsethook looks like with the line before it and after it as well:
-------------------------------------------------------
# key 225 "KEY_BRIGHTNESSUP"
key 226 HEADSETHOOK

key 256 BUTTON_1
-------------------------------------------------------

Note how mine has 3 spaces between 226 and headsethook....should I make the new code replacing it like this?:
key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE (there are 3 spaces between 226 and media)

And should I still skip a line after it?
 
ash0074
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ash0074 View Post
Hi all, hopefully someone can help me, I tried to do the change on my rooted phone from key 226 HEADSETHOOK to "key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE"

Question is, my original line for key 226 HEADSETHOOK is formatted weird, it has no number sign and a few extra spaces stock. Do i replace it with key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE, no number sign and no quotations? Do I mimic the spacing? Currently, this is what my headsethook looks like with the line before it and after it as well:
-------------------------------------------------------
# key 225 "KEY_BRIGHTNESSUP"
key 226 HEADSETHOOK

key 256 BUTTON_1
-------------------------------------------------------

Note how mine has 3 spaces between 226 and headsethook....should I make the new code replacing it like this?:
key 226 MEDIA_PLAY_PAUSE (there are 3 spaces between 226 and media)


And should I still skip a line after it?

Another note, this post is removing my spaces, so they arent showing here but the spaces are on my phone.
 
ash0074
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Ok, I got it to work, I switched 164 and 226 and i was able to pause and start my music, but now i can't answer calls with that button. Is it one or the other, is there no way to make a single button headset control calls and music?
 
ash0074
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ash0074 View Post
Ok, I got it to work, I switched 164 and 226 and i was able to pause and start my music, but now i can't answer calls with that button. Is it one or the other, is there no way to make a single button headset control calls and music?
Anyone know anything on this?
 
jeffhesser
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 52
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Volume?

That was most helpful. Note for everyone, it was the qwerty.kl file (info on finding it and such here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1229066)

Any thoughts on the volume up and down buttons maybe?
 
bachera
Old
(Last edited by bachera; 12th March 2014 at 07:45 PM.)
#6  
bachera's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 194
Posts: 992
Join Date: Sep 2013
try gonemad player
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more