Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,453 Members 41,871 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Restart loop after update

Tip us?
 
mokkami
Old
#11  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 417
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
@kokonai OH? I thought unroot is essential?
I guess u used the modified recovery to root?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tussky View Post
Yes, I mean that,so if I follow this guide,then it will help ? I used the followin from modaco site -> Root your Moto G - option 1: Superboot
At the moment i am confused. But yeah i'm assuming it will work.
Cause if i understand it right, the superboot method is a modified kernel.
So you should flash motoboot.img.

There are several ways now. Either you flash cwm and wipe /cache as described above.
Or you flash motoboot and then , in my opinion, it should work.
The Following User Says Thank You to mokkami For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Tussky
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
@kokonai OH? I thought unroot is essential?
I guess u used the modified recovery to root?



At the moment i am confused. But yeah i'm assuming it will work.
Cause if i understand it right, the superboot method is a modified kernel.
So you should flash motoboot.img.

There are several ways now. Either you flash cwm and wipe /cache as described above.
Or you flash motoboot and then , in my opinion, it should work.
I used the method to root the phone what is on that site,I followed that description and it worked. I'am not an expert in it,so I just followed PaulOBrien guide,so I can't answer for it for sure.

At this point I'am really desperate as the phone is completely useless, so I don't care even if I had data loss,as I can't access it anymore,nor save it to my PC.
 
mokkami
Old
(Last edited by mokkami; 26th February 2014 at 10:09 AM.)
#13  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 417
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
In my knowledge, which seems not to be true anymore, the phone needs to be stock to install any update.
I am not talking about installed apps. It is more about system partition, recovery, kernel and so on.

I would try now to flash the motoboot.img and see what happens.
If this does not work i would flash cmw and try what was mentioned above.
Sure you can go completly stock. But in my view you are not that lost.
I'll stay with you
......but max 5 hours =)
 
Tussky
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
In my knowledge, which seems not to be true anymore, the phone needs to be stock to install any update.
I am not talking about installed apps. It is more about system partition, recovery, kernel and so on.

I would try now to flash the motoboot.img and see what happens.
If this does not work i would flash cmw and try what was mentioned above.
Sure you can go completly stock. But in my view you are not that lost.
I'll stay with you
......but max 5 hours =)
Thanks! However I can try it out only after 20 UTC.

However I have an idea,but maybe I'am wrong.

What happens if I try the chace wipe via in command line, I mean:

mfastboot erase cache

This should delete the cache right ? Shouldn't this command remove the problematic update file ?
 
mokkami
Old
#15  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 417
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
Oh yeah this should be also an option.
But you'll come again to that point where you wanna install the update?!
 
Tussky
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
Oh yeah this should be also an option.
But you'll come again to that point where you wanna install the update?!
I want to give it a try. Yes,however I don't have to install the update. But I think I will flash a stock rom,make the update and then re-root the phone.
 
TechLT
Old
#17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2014
Thank you guys, I was going crazy with this rebooting problem. So now it is fixed, but how can I get the update? Noway?
 
Tussky
Old
#18  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
Oh yeah this should be also an option.
But you'll come again to that point where you wanna install the update?!
I was able to enable the usb debugging,and then to start the bootloader. However If I connected the phone and tried to execute the adb reboot-bootloader command it didn't worked. So I restarted the phone and entered into the bootloader,then I've done the following:

fastboot reboot-bootloader
fastboot erase cache

After the first command,the phone rebooted into bootloader,then the second command finally cleared the chace. Now my uptime is more then 8 minutes,so the phone is working great now

However I will do the complete process on the weekend,but not now as I'am really tired,but I will flash a stock rom at the weekend.
 
secretkloud
Old
#19  
Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 39
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Possible solution...

Just started a thread with a possible solution


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2663205


Hope it helps...

The Following User Says Thank You to secretkloud For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes