APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

How to install Cyanogenmod on Bell a510a

OP Cup o Joe

27th February 2014, 04:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
edit 28/2/14 : for tutorial see posts 4 and 7

Hi, I have a Wildfire S a510a that failed to be rooted so I am starting over with the Bell RUU (Aka virgin mobile).

I am charging the phone to get it ready to flash. Will flashing the ROM delete the Superuser app that came with the root.zip?
Last edited by Cup o Joe; 1st March 2014 at 04:20 AM.
27th February 2014, 12:52 PM   |  #2  
csoulr666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aligarh
Thanks Meter: 408
 
1,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cup o Joe

Hi, I have a Wildfire S a510a that failed to be rooted so I am starting over with the Bell RUU (Aka virgin mobile).

I am charging the phone to get it ready to flash. Will flashing the ROM delete the Superuser app that came with the root.zip?

Yes, the RUU wipes all data before flashing so you will loose all apps and data
27th February 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by csoulr666

Yes, the RUU wipes all data before flashing so you will loose all apps and data

I tried using "HTC android phone rom update utility 1.0.3.2011" and it says "This rom utility can not update your android device, please get the appropriate ROM update utility and try again."

In titanium backup I accidentally uninstalled "HTC sense" and now the desktop area is black. I can still navigate the settings menu but not phone or the apps menu. Is there a way to move the Bell Ruu to the sd card and opening it with CWMbased recovery?
27th February 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #4  
csoulr666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aligarh
Thanks Meter: 408
 
1,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cup o Joe

I tried using "HTC android phone rom update utility 1.0.3.2011" and it says "This rom utility can not update your android device, please get the appropriate ROM update utility and try again."

In titanium backup I accidentally uninstalled "HTC sense" and now the desktop area is black. I can still navigate the settings menu but not phone or the apps menu. Is there a way to move the Bell Ruu to the sd card and opening it with CWMbased recovery?

Open the RUU and let it open, then close it after the first window opens.................then get into the temp folder by typing "%temp%" in "Run"(if using Windows XP) or directly in the search bar in Windows 7
search in there to find a zip file named "rom.zip"(not case sensitive), it would be something between 100-160 MB
Take that "rom.zip" and flash it via CWM
27th February 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
How to you extract the rom from the ruu file? I can't install it through the usb cord so I want to install it using cwm.
Last edited by Cup o Joe; 27th February 2014 at 07:53 PM.
28th February 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #6  
csoulr666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aligarh
Thanks Meter: 408
 
1,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cup o Joe

How to you extract the rom from the ruu file? I can't install it through the usb cord so I want to install it using cwm.

Follow my instructions on the previous post and flash the zip file in CWM
The Following User Says Thank You to csoulr666 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Plug fixed
Quote:
Originally Posted by csoulr666

Follow my instructions on the previous post and flash the zip file in CWM

For some reason my last post didn't appear. Anyway, I followed your instructions but the system.img was damaged (download ruu 3 times damaged each time) so I installed everything but system.img through fastboot. Once I had everything flashed but the system, flashing a rom was simple. I installed Cyanogenmod 7.1 via CWM recovery as a recommendation from this thread: "Best rom for canadian wildfire S a510a"
and it worked. Click image for larger version

Name:	HTC fix.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	2606773
4th March 2014, 12:31 AM   |  #8  
oneey3dinjun's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cup o Joe

edit 28/2/14 : for tutorial see posts 4 and 7

Hi, I have a Wildfire S a510a that failed to be rooted so I am starting over with the Bell RUU (Aka virgin mobile).

I am charging the phone to get it ready to flash. Will flashing the ROM delete the Superuser app that came with the root.zip?

I had quite a time rooting my Bell a510a as well, I kept getting superuser and CWM force closes and fixing permissions was not helping. Root checkers were just freezing so I decided to try some apps that needed root to check for me instead, none installed so I knew root was not properly configured. I think read thru 20 or so tutorials before I got it rooted. Is there a Bell RUU or is virgin the alternative choice?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes