Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HP slate 7 extreme a plain tegra note?

OP prichm1992

27th February 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #1  
prichm1992's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Just wondering if anybody's tried to flash tn7 ROMs on their s7e? And does the s7e read the same model number as the tegra note? P1640?

Sent from my SGH-I317 using xda app-developers app
27th February 2014, 05:27 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I've been stuck trying to figure out how to adb on my slate 7 extreme for weeks. Tried every driver and every cord and port. So while I'd love to confirm that it is the same... I'm still not sure.
2nd March 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Same here looking for a root

Sent from my HP Slate7 Extreme using xda app-developers app
28th March 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I was able to root it after some playing around,
you need to use the universal naked drivers (Nvidia Shield) for both adb and fastboot.
To unlock you have to specifiy the vendorid to fastboot:
fastboot -i 0x03F0 oem unlock

The util in the TN7 dev forum will not work out of the box for the S7E because it doesn't specify the vendor id to fastboot, but the supplied files will work (you can modify the .bat if you want to add the "-i 0x03F0" to fastboot). You can boot CWM to install root.

Installing the 4.4.2 system and boot partitions works and it will boot, however i am having trouble with it locking up a lot.
29th March 2014, 03:55 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobilla

I was able to root it after some playing around,
you need to use the universal naked drivers (Nvidia Shield) for both adb and fastboot.
To unlock you have to specifiy the vendorid to fastboot:
fastboot -i 0x03F0 oem unlock

The util in the TN7 dev forum will not work out of the box for the S7E because it doesn't specify the vendor id to fastboot, but the supplied files will work (you can modify the .bat if you want to add the "-i 0x03F0" to fastboot). You can boot CWM to install root.

Installing the 4.4.2 system and boot partitions works and it will boot, however i am having trouble with it locking up a lot.

cool. What do you mean by locking up a lot? it often hang and jam? . So i guess, staying at 4.2.2 is the best for now?
29th March 2014, 10:57 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysoblue

cool. What do you mean by locking up a lot? it often hang and jam? . So i guess, staying at 4.2.2 is the best for now?

It will work fine for up to about 10 minutes, then the screen will freeze and the only way to get it back is to hold the power down for 10 seconds and reboot it.

I am back on 4.2.2 right now, but when I have some extra time I might try a few things.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mobilla For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th April 2014, 12:04 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobilla

I was able to root it after some playing around,
you need to use the universal naked drivers (Nvidia Shield) for both adb and fastboot.
To unlock you have to specifiy the vendorid to fastboot:
fastboot -i 0x03F0 oem unlock

The util in the TN7 dev forum will not work out of the box for the S7E because it doesn't specify the vendor id to fastboot, but the supplied files will work (you can modify the .bat if you want to add the "-i 0x03F0" to fastboot). You can boot CWM to install root.

Installing the 4.4.2 system and boot partitions works and it will boot, however i am having trouble with it locking up a lot.

Is it possible to just have root set up on 4.2.2? Would like to keep all partitions stock if possible (as well as the bootloader). Would this help with stability issues? Sorry if these are noobish questions but thanks in advance
19th April 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Dude you gotta give us a detailed guide on rooting puuuhleeaase
22nd April 2014, 02:14 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nejinikko

Dude you gotta give us a detailed guide on rooting puuuhleeaase

+1

I tried a chinese program without luck. I just bought a keyboard which works with the wrong layout in 4.2 and works perfect with 4.4 which I have on my other devices..therefore I am really looking forward flashing it!
22nd April 2014, 05:31 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Exclamation Almost plain tegra
Hi, I agree with @Mobilla I installed android 4.4.2 from this link but be extreme careful, backup your rom first, KitKat works fine but randomly android freeze all system, I tested ClockWorkMod recovery and work flashing root file SuperSU-v1.94.zip but I don't test backup from recovery, well maybe someone can help us to know why kitkat freeze chinese root method is complicated I rooted with this method I don't read chinese I click some buttons and it works. Sorry with my English, I'm from El Salvador, I speak Spanish

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes