Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Phone Won't Mount SD Card

OP iLoveBBQRibs

27th February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Last night I decided to restore my phone back to the stock ROM. I've completed this process countless times before without ever having this problem. I made my backups via Titanium and TWRP recovery. Since I had a lot of photos saved internally, I wanted to move them to my SD card before going back to the stock ROM since they would have been deleted. I used my file manager and MOVED folders containing the pictures that I wanted to save to my SD card. I think this is where my problem stems from. I probably should have copied the folders instead of just moving them. After the stock ROM loaded up I went through the introduction steps and afterwards I noticed the "Your SD card is safe to remove" notification. I went to settings to try and mount the SD card but the setting app ends up crashing. Thinking I made a mistake while going back to stock, I restored my phone back the ROM I was using my backup only to find out that the problem still persisted. The card can be mounted in windows and in recovery mode. I have no idea how to make my phone mount it normally though.
27th February 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 120
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Since you restored stock and are having problems I would flash stock via Odin without the sdcard in the phone just to be sure.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jrebo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I just tried that and it still didn't mount. I should probably note that it's my 64GB SD card that cannot be mounted and my 16GB one can.
27th February 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 120
 
395 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Fat32?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th February 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #5  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,427
 
5,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Well then sounds like an issue might be with the format of the card. Try backing it up to pc then formatting it as a fat file system instead of exfat.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jlmancuso For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I backed up everything from my SD card to my desktop and reformatted it as exFAT (since that's how I originally formatted it) and now my phone can mount it normally again. Still not sure what made it unrecognizable to my phone, but I'm glad I don't have to purchase a new 64GB SD card now. Thanks for helping guys. Much appreciated.
27th February 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,427
 
5,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLoveBBQRibs

I backed up everything from my SD card to my desktop and reformatted it as exFAT (since that's how I originally formatted it) and now my phone can mount it normally again. Still not sure what made it unrecognizable to my phone, but I'm glad I don't have to purchase a new 64GB SD card now. Thanks for helping guys. Much appreciated.

I still suggest using plain fat since exfat is not supported 100% by all roms/kernels. This could save you from issues later if you change from stock roms to custom roms.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes