Team Win Recovery Project for Tornado 348

more

PhotoMath: A Math Beginner’s Dream App

more

Leaked Galaxy S6 Apps Hit the Forums

more

Fix Untinted Recent Panels on Lollipop

more
Post Reply

Phone Won't Mount SD Card

OP iLoveBBQRibs

27th February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Last night I decided to restore my phone back to the stock ROM. I've completed this process countless times before without ever having this problem. I made my backups via Titanium and TWRP recovery. Since I had a lot of photos saved internally, I wanted to move them to my SD card before going back to the stock ROM since they would have been deleted. I used my file manager and MOVED folders containing the pictures that I wanted to save to my SD card. I think this is where my problem stems from. I probably should have copied the folders instead of just moving them. After the stock ROM loaded up I went through the introduction steps and afterwards I noticed the "Your SD card is safe to remove" notification. I went to settings to try and mount the SD card but the setting app ends up crashing. Thinking I made a mistake while going back to stock, I restored my phone back the ROM I was using my backup only to find out that the problem still persisted. The card can be mounted in windows and in recovery mode. I have no idea how to make my phone mount it normally though.
27th February 2014, 02:41 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 128
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Since you restored stock and are having problems I would flash stock via Odin without the sdcard in the phone just to be sure.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jrebo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I just tried that and it still didn't mount. I should probably note that it's my 64GB SD card that cannot be mounted and my 16GB one can.
27th February 2014, 06:13 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Arizona
Thanks Meter: 128
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Fat32?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th February 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #5  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,544
 
5,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Well then sounds like an issue might be with the format of the card. Try backing it up to pc then formatting it as a fat file system instead of exfat.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to jlmancuso For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
I backed up everything from my SD card to my desktop and reformatted it as exFAT (since that's how I originally formatted it) and now my phone can mount it normally again. Still not sure what made it unrecognizable to my phone, but I'm glad I don't have to purchase a new 64GB SD card now. Thanks for helping guys. Much appreciated.
27th February 2014, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
jlmancuso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag houston, tx
Thanks Meter: 5,544
 
5,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLoveBBQRibs

I backed up everything from my SD card to my desktop and reformatted it as exFAT (since that's how I originally formatted it) and now my phone can mount it normally again. Still not sure what made it unrecognizable to my phone, but I'm glad I don't have to purchase a new 64GB SD card now. Thanks for helping guys. Much appreciated.

I still suggest using plain fat since exfat is not supported 100% by all roms/kernels. This could save you from issues later if you change from stock roms to custom roms.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes