Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 39,372 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Persistent problem

Tip us?
 
zprovo
Old
#21  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by andro ninja View Post
I remember I had same problem. I use to restore only the boot partition from a backup of a stock rom.
So try installing a stock rom like this one http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2595586. If it works then boot into recovery and take a backup then install whatever you want to and the just restore the boot partition if your are stuck at boot logo.

Trying this right now
 
andro ninja
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zprovo View Post
Ok just finished installing the stock bell rom from the site I linked in a previous post.

Stock D803 rom with stock D803 kernel, both installed succesfully.

Phone is back to exactly how it was when I started this thread. EXCEPT that I now also have TWRP running alongside it.

So that includes:
-*#06# = IMEI Null
-phone reboots randomly every 5 to 15 seconds
-keyboard never comes up
-widgets always have a "loading" circle spinning on them
-trying to enter security and settings = auto reboot
-all other options are accesible and useable as long as no keyboard is involved since it never comes up
-no wifi

Wow, this is one hard to fix phone.

Or it simply has hardware damage. but I doubt it since it has no issues running recovery.

Any ideas?
Isn't your phone 801 ?
 
zprovo
Old
#23  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by andro ninja View Post
Isn't your phone 801 ?
Yes but it's the canadian "videotron" 801 which is a hardware equivalent of the d803. Not the same as the american d801... From what I gathered from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2611749
Quote:
Phone models compatible with this thread:

*Claro PR D801
*Wind Mobile D801
*Videotron D801
*Rogers D803
*Bell D803
*Telus D803
T-Mobile D801 is NOT compatible
So I tried this:
-Backed up functional boot
-Installed custom rom, matching kernel and gapps
-Tried booting went to bootloop (didnt evenshow the cyanogen logo)
-Went into recovery, restored functional boot
-Tried booting and went to bootloop (led lights came on this time hehe )

I cant believe you are still coming up with ideas it is quite impressive.
 
zprovo
Old
#24  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
For what it's worth, this seems to be the exact same problem I am having:

http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f799.../#post10009304
 
andro ninja
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zprovo View Post
Yes but it's the canadian "videotron" 801 which is a hardware equivalent of the d803. Not the same as the american d801... From what I gathered from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2611749


So I tried this:
-Backed up functional boot
-Installed custom rom, matching kernel and gapps
-Tried booting went to bootloop (didnt evenshow the cyanogen logo)
-Went into recovery, restored functional boot
-Tried booting and went to bootloop (led lights came on this time hehe )

I cant believe you are still coming up with ideas it is quite impressive.
the first boot always takes more time. give it a little more time and see. If not find some other stock rom for your device and try this again.
 
zprovo
Old
#26  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by andro ninja View Post
the first boot always takes more time. give it a little more time and see. If not find some other stock rom for your device and try this again.
I was not impatient though, i meant it was actually boot looping. In both cases it would come to the lg screen then shut down then come to the lg screen... "ad infinitum"

Ok I will try with a different stock rom
 
zprovo
Old
(Last edited by zprovo; 28th February 2014 at 01:52 AM.)
#27  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Ok so I have actually managed to install a different rom.

I installed cleanrom from here http://www.scottsroms.com/downloads.php?do=cat&id=99

at first it didnt work. then I tried the boot trick of replacing the boot.img with the functional one.

And it worked!

But the phone is still doing all the same stuff it did on the other (stock) rom. (rebooting every 5 seconds, no keyboard, no connection to anything, no sound sometimes, cannot close the screen or it auto reboots, small grey box with "error" written inside it appears when I enter system settings, widgets never work, etc.)

I find it strange that the exact same problems have carried over.

Any ideas now?

I have to say I reall appreciate your help so far andro ninja.

Im having a hard time believing how complicated this is getting, this is by far the worst android experience I have ever had.

Also if anyone knows of a place I can just send this phone to be repaired please let me know. At this point, unless someone has anything else to try, i consider the thing a 350$ paperweight which is actually extremely depressing considering how little money I actually make and the fact that I now have no phone.
 
andro ninja
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hey you can always flash your stock firmware and then try these steps that worked for you

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to andro ninja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zprovo
Old
#29  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Sorry I dont understand...

Which steps?

When I first started out with this thread I had just flashed it succesfully back to original stock firmware.

It was still presenting all the same issues...

I have been looking into octoplus. Anybody familiar with that? http://octoplusbox.com/

Should I just go see a professional at this point, or are they going to try what I have already tried and tell me what I already know?

Much love,

Feel free to chime in anyone. Thanks again andro ninja.
 
zprovo
Old
#30  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 37
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zprovo View Post
Sorry I dont understand...

Which steps?

When I first started out with this thread I had just flashed it succesfully back to original stock firmware.

It was still presenting all the same issues...

I have been looking into octoplus. Anybody familiar with that? http://octoplusbox.com/

Should I just go see a professional at this point, or are they going to try what I have already tried and tell me what I already know?

Much love,

Feel free to chime in anyone. Thanks again andro ninja.
I hate double posting, but if anyone out there reading this thinks that this phone has hardware damage I would love to know before wasting anymore time or money trying to fix it.

Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more