Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lost root?

OP ycats

27th February 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cane Ridge, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 136
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
I took the OTA from last week and rooted it. Yesterday, it seems I've lost root possibly. When I open Titanium Backup, I get the message "sorry, I could not acquire root priveleges...........this attempt was made using the " /system/xbin/su" command". So, what's going on?
27th February 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #2  
tonyevo52's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
603 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ycats

I took the OTA from last week and rooted it. Yesterday, it seems I've lost root possibly. When I open Titanium Backup, I get the message "sorry, I could not acquire root priveleges...........this attempt was made using the " /system/xbin/su" command". So, what's going on?

Some programs that you install are not KK friendly, it has happened to me a couple times, did you do a backup, if so, flash it, if not, just Odin the root tar again.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
27th February 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cane Ridge, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 136
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
I believe I still have root (Adaway and Root Explorer apps still work), but all of a sudden, TB isn't working.
27th February 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cane Ridge, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 136
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Well, I found a thread about adding a line to a particular .xml file for writing to sdcard........rebooted and TB is working fine.
28th February 2014, 05:21 AM   |  #5  
MrWicked1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Pablo, Ca
Thanks Meter: 115
 
582 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Also sometimes this happens depending what recovery you are using when you wipe everything. You can boot into your recovery and hit reroot and usually this will fix it also.
28th February 2014, 05:25 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Cane Ridge, Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 136
 
1,645 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
That's good to know, thanks.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes